Recent Searches
Clear
Central Deborah Gold Mine
Central Deborah Gold Mine

Central Deborah Gold Mine

76 Violet St, Bendigo, VIC 3550

The Basics

There are four ways to experience Central Deborah Gold Mine. Start by exploring the original mining buildings, admiring historic mining equipment, and gold panning. Then, venture underground via a guided tour. Learn about the gold rush on the Mine Experience tour, which descends to 200 feet (61 meters); gain insight into miners' lives on an Underground Adventure tour, at 279 feet (85 meters); or join the Nine Levels of Darkness tour, at 748 feet (228 meters).

Show all

Things to Know Before You Go

  • Safety equipment and full instruction are provided for all tours—make sure to bring a jacket for the cooler underground temperature and sturdy shoes.

  • Minimum ages apply for all underground tours.

  • On-site facilities include restrooms, parking, a gift shop, and picnic areas.

  • For something traditional, try the Miner’s Pasties, available in both meat and vegetarian flavors from the gift shop.

  • The surface buildings and level two mine tour are accessible for wheelchair users.

Show all

How to Get There

The Central Deborah Gold Mine is located in Bendigo, 91 miles (147 kilometers) north of Melbourne, about a 1.5-hour drive. Regular trains run from Melbourne to Bendigo (around a 1.5-hour journey) and buses continue the short distance from Bendigo train station to the mine.

Show all

When to Get There

The mine is open daily, year-round, but it’s recommended to book tours in advance. The busiest time to visit is in summer (January and February), when an early-morning visit is recommended to avoid crowds.

Show all

History of Central Deborah Gold Mine

Australia’s gold rush made its way to Bendigo in 1851, when Margaret Kennedy discovered gold in Bendigo Creek. More than 5,000 gold mines followed. The Central Deborah Gold Mine operated from 1939 until 1951, producing 29,865 ounces (929 kilograms) of gold. The mine was one of the last in the area to close down and was bought by the local council in 1970 to be preserved as a heritage site.

Show all