Recent Searches
Clear

Whales and Puffins Tour from Husavik

star-4.550 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Húsavík, Iceland
Whales and Puffins Tour from Husavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Hop a vintage fishing boat for an adventure-filled, half-day wildlife tour, as you set out on the trail of puffins and whales. Get up close and personal with Iceland’s most iconic wildlife species, and get detailed background on their behavior from your captain and guide. Tours include a visit to Lundey Island, home to one of Iceland’s largest puffin colonies, and a whale-watching excursion through Skjálfandi Bay.
  • A combo, wildlife half-day trip with puffin colony visit and whale watching tour
  • Get a chance to see whales, dolphins, and local bird species in their natural habitats
  • Maximize your wildlife sightings with expert routes from your seasoned guides
  • Enjoy a comfortable ride in a fully restored.
Saved to wishlist!
Live commentary on board
All taxes, fees and handling charge
20% discount to Húsavík Whale Museum
10% discount to Geosea, Húsavík
Light refreshments
Professional guide
Warm overalls
North Sailing - Húsavík Whale Watching , Garðarsbraut, 640 Húsavík, Iceland

All our tours are run in cooperation with North Sailing. The meeting point is at North Sailing's ticket office, located in the centre of town, opposite the Húsavík church.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 75 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Salka Whale Watching
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
50 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-9 of 50 reviews
star-4
A nice way to explore Iceland
TANYA_M
, Jul 2022
We have seen a lot of puffins, which was great. We also saw some whales. We also were lucky with the weather!
star-1
Tour canceled despite boats still going out
Tamela_W
, Jul 2022
We were looking forward to our whale & puffin tour. It was the first day in many that was sunny & calm. When we showed up for the tour, we learned it was canceled "due to sea conditions." We were told an email had been sent, but I could find no such email (not even in spam). A local learning that our tour was canceled "due to sea conditions" asked incredulously "today?". Other companies were sending out boats & even the company that canceled on us was sending out tours. Someone else said conditions were ideal (not always true) and mused aloud that there "probably weren't enough people signed up for a whale & puffin tour." I would have believed that conditions were poor many other days, but not the day we were scheduled. And not when boats were still going out throughout the time we were scheduled.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Last minute change made it as good as possible.
jennifer_d
, Jun 2022
The tour was great. My only complaint was that our tour was switched from Husavik to Akuyeri due to weather but also we weren't able to see the puffins as planned due to this unforeseeable change. We did see two humpback whales which was very cool.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Jennifer, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad to hear that you were happy with the tour :) I'm very sorry if you were not provided with the information about the lack of puffins in Hjalteyri. Could you please send us an email with your booking details so we can take a look at your booking? :) Thank you for the review, I wish you a wonderful week. Kind regards, Þórný
star-1
Unacceptable business practices
Alexander_M
, Jun 2022
They cancelled the tour. They said due to weather, but the weather was fine. I suspect they just didn't have enough people scheduled. That is not an acceptable business practice.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry to hear that your tour was cancelled. It rarely happens that we don't have enough people scheduled for our tours. Unfortunately the weather conditions can be completely different out at sea than here in Húsavík, and sometimes we need to cancel tours due to bad sea conditions as it is not safe to go out if the waves are very high. I'm very sorry to hear that you were not happy with our services and that you were not able to join us for a whale watching tour. If you want to contact us, feel free to write us an email or call us anytime. I wish you a wonderful day! Kind regards, Þórný
star-5
Great Whale Watching Experience
Philip_R
, Apr 2022
Excellent captain and personable and knowledgeable first mate. They made sure we saw whales during our adventure. Scenery could not have been more beautiful!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Philip, I'm very happy to hear that you had such a nice and memorable experience with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I hope we'll see you again someday! Kind regards, Þórný
star-5
This whale watching tour was the...
Laurel K
, Aug 2017
This whale watching tour was the highlight of our trip! We were so lucky to see about ten whales right in the fjord, and really enjoyed seeing puffins for the first time. The tour was extremely safe, well run and the crew was great! They were so knowledgeable about all sea life and we learned so much. I did not bring my DSLR camera because I was worried about water spray, but it was a beautiful day and the water was calm so I missed an amazing opportunity to photograph these beautiful creatures. Just the chance to see Iceland from the water was totally worth the tour price. The scenery is spectacular, and Husavik is such a charming little town. I wish we had known to book accommodations there because we would have loved to linger by the harbor. I really can't recommend this tour enough!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Salsa whale watching tour was...
Michel H
, Aug 2016
Salsa whale watching tour was fantastic! Knowledgeable guide and determined captain. We saw a lot. Thanks
star-5
Great tour! Saw many whales and were...
brightseasoning
, Jul 2016
Great tour! Saw many whales and were able to get quite close to one. Tour guide was great! So glad they give you those big coveralls - I didn't get cold.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Vilket upplevelse!
Pr_L
, Aug 2022
Fick se både valar och delfiner på nära håll och otroligt många puffiner! Trevlig personal båda på båten och där de säljer biljetterna. Rekommenderas.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Whales and Puffins Tour from Husavik
Whales and Puffins Tour from Husavik

star-4.550

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$97.00

star-4.579

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.5199

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$147.03

star-4.555

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.67

star-54

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$166.84

star-4.5196

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$78.20

star-4.555

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$95.93

star-5149

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.56

star-4215

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$80.29
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations