Recent Searches
Clear

Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour

star-4.515 Reviews
|
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon9 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Tick off two of Holland’s top attractions in just one day on this combo tour to Zaanse Schans and Giethoorn, with seamless round-trip transfer from central Amsterdam saving you time and energy for sightseeing. Benefit from the insider knowledge of your professional guide as you explore Zaanse Schans traditional windmills and historic houses, then head to the charming canal-town of Giethoorn for your guided boat excursion.
  • Tick off two of Holland’s most charming attractions in just one day
  • Round-trip transfer from central Amsterdam ensures a hassle-free trip
  • Learn about Dutch history and culture from your professional guide
  • Avoid hidden costs with your Giethoorn boat tour included in the price
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Tour coach or van
1-Hour English guided boat trip in Giethoorn with tea/coffee served on board.
Gratuities
Lunch

Departure Point

Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, Netherlands

We meet in front of NH Barbizon Hotel 5 mins in advance. Pls provide mobile contact in case we do not see you there, we call you.

Departure Time

9:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Stroller accessible
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Cherry Travel & Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
15 Reviews
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-3 of 15 reviews
star-2
Save your time and money; pick a different tour of Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans
Alan_D
, Sep 2021
Over half of the tour time was riding in a van. The tour guide did not have a good command of the english language, therefore, it was hard to understand her. She did very little narrating. She could have given us information about the people, history, culture, demographics, climate, or anything, but didn't. Once you get to the destination, Giethoorn, it is a lovely area to walk around. However, it was already 1:30pm and we were so hungry, we opted to not go on the canal cruise (which was the main attraction) because it would have been another hour before we had lunch. Really, we were just left to walk around this small area of shops. The Zaanse Schans tour was not well done either. The guide says a few words, then leaves you to to go see the windmill and then walk around the shops by yourself, which is probably okay since I wouldn't want her to follow me around. The only store that she stayed with us was at the diamond store. I'm assuming it was because if anybody did buy a diamond, she would get a commission. I'm not sure what a diamond store was doing on this particular tour. Overall, while the sites were interesting and beautiful, the lack of a competent guide ruined this tour for us.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hello Alan, We are very sorry and surprised to hear about your experience. The tour is 9 hours and the van ride is 3.5 hours. This tour is popular because getting to Giethoorn by public transport is at least 3 hours one way, driving is only half of the time. We were lucky that day we had only 5 people which was more efficient. I accompanied the group for wooden clogs and cheese factory live demonstrations and I was standing behind the group. Diamond museum is optional, not expecting you to buy any, but to get to know famous Dutch diamond making/cutting technique and design (design with tulips is only available in the Netherlands). Sorry to hear you don't appreciate the art. I am sure the other two people on the same tour (Irish couple) were happy with the tour as they offered tips. It is the first time of my 8 years' career as a tour guide, received a comment like this about my English standard. I run tour for expats developed a travel community. Expats keep coming back to join my tours around Europe, they recommend friends, colleagues and family to join me as well. If my English is not up to standard, I don't see any reason why 'Cherry Tours' is successful running till now. You are right the boat trip is a highlight as it is the only way for a round trip to see the historic centre of Giethoorn. I usually ask the group if they want to take boat trip first or lunch first, or you could have communicated with me that you want to have lunch first. No problem for me. I did offer to run the boat trip again after lunch and they said no need due to the weather a bit windy with drizzle, which is indeed typical Dutch weather. On my tour, I share more information regarding travelling, culture and significant and interesting facts of the Netherlands, not to mention the destinations we travel to. You may read the reviews on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the trip as many do. Just wish you could have told me on that day so I could offer the tour the way you wanted. All I wanted was to make your day well spent, this is my goal for each tour with different people around the world. Wish you happy travelling! Best Regards, Cherry
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Spectacular
Maria_T
, Aug 2021
EVERYTHING!! I have no words to describe how spectacular was the whole scenery of the villages WAS AMAZING!! Everyone has to visit these villages in the Netherlands
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Maria, Thank you for your great review. I didn't even remind you to write a good review for us. It was such a wonderful time with your lovely family especially driving the electric boat cruising around Giethoorn. Thank you for being the captains. Maybe we will welcome you back on Spring time again! Happy travels! Regards, Cherry
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Totally worth the money!
Donna_A
, Jul 2021
This trip was well worth the money. I highly recommend this trip and this company. Cheery is an excellent guide. She was very informative and gave us plenty of time to browse and took our pictures. Our group was very just 4 of us and because there were less tourists than usual, it was beautiful and peaceful! Our driver was also awesome.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Donna. We enjoyed a great tour with you seeing everything typical Dutch in one day, no hassle and not rushing. My goal is to offer a relaxing, fun tour for everyone form all the world coming to the Netherlands seeing the top typical attractions. We would like to welcome you back in a different season, or your friends and family in Amsterdam soon! Thank you very much! Regards, Cherry
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour
Giethoorn and Zaanse Schans Small-Group Day Tour

star-4.515

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$143.03

star-5300

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$48.76

star-3.59

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$191.11

star-4.5158

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$117.79

star-4.533

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$156.26

star-00

5 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$387.64

star-4.5209

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$106.98

Explore Similar Things to Do