Recent Searches

Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua

star-4.565 Reviews
Antigua, Guatemala
Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon7 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Pacaya Volcano is one of the most active—and most popular—in all of Guatemala. Stationed some 8,000 feet (2,500 meters) above sea level, this destination is an ideal spot for travelers who want an easy hike, epic views, and some memorable stories. This tour allows you the comfort and ease of pre-arranged transportation to ensure you get the most out of your hike.
  • Transportation to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua
  • See one of Guatemala's most active volcanoes
  • Hike to the top with a professional local guide
  • Take in the views from the top of the volcano
Saved to wishlist!
Trail Guide (Not full English)
Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
Collective transportation Antigua-Volcano-Antigua
Entrance fees Q50.00 per person
Food and drinks

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We can pick up in any centrally located Antigua Hotels, Air BnB and family homestays. We don't pick up in the villages around. You are purchasing a collective service, this means several people will join the tour. This means that the van will experience some delays caused by travellers that are not ready in time, or gave a wrong address. Please be Patient.

Departure Time

6:00 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 12 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age is 8 years
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Voyageur Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua.
What is the policy on sanitization during Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua.
What is the social distancing policy during Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Be prepared to be in a vehicle for a long time." See review
  • "The trip was well organized and a great value !Definetily worthy doing if you are up for a hike!If you are in fair shape without knee issues you should be fine" See review


65 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 65 reviews
Great Experience!!! - Highly recommend!
, Jan 2022
It is a great experience! Amazing hike! The volcano is Beautiful. The guide are very helpful and knowledgeable. - Highly recommend!
Sweet Guatemalan Experience
, Jan 2022
Punctual pickup from hotel. The drive was short to the volcano where we were greeted by our local guide. He clearly explained how our tour would go and what to expect. He spoke good English and also Spanish. Our group was young so we climbed rather quickly but the guide offered rest breaks when needed and filled us in with interesting info about the region. Unfortunately it was a cloudy evening so we didn't get a good view of the sunset but it was still a very enjoyable evening. If you need you can buy a hiking stick from the kids at the start of the hike or hire a horse. Pack layers! Will be chilly at the top but you get very sweaty climbing up.
Tour was NOT in English, Underwhelming experience overall
, Jan 2022
The tour was NOT in English. Repeat, do not go on this tour if you need English instruction. Luckily, I was able to translate for my friend. Having read the reviews about negotiating for the horses, we came fully prepared to walk up the mountain or ask for a low price. I started negotiating after we got off the bus, but I was put told that the horse was included (not true) and put on anyway. The ride up was easy and nice. After the horse ride, we still had to walk about 15 minutes on steep rocks. Once at the top, there was a flag on a pile of rocks and a man selling "Volcano Pizza" cooked in the Volcano vents- for approximately $50 USD for the pie. We received marshmallows also cooked over the vents. We were allowed to stay for maybe 15 minutes after a 1 hour and 20-minute ride up. No views or lava flows to be seen, but that was probably due to the weather. At the bottom, I was told I had to pay for the horse after being told it was included by the guide. The ride on the bus wasn't bad and was quick by most standards. My recommendation- skip Pacaya altogether and do Acetanango instead.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hi Rachel, we are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We have noticed, that somehow, our information on the description of the tour is not well seen. Our description does make the distinction on to what we offer as far as a "guide". We specifically describe our tour package, to have a trail guide, and a non bilingual trail guide. Regarding the horse, i think it was a misunderstanding and a difficulty due to the language barrier. I hope you still enjoy our beautiful country.
Fantastic Experience
, Nov 2021
This was such a great experience! We were picked up on time, and the bus was comfortable. Our guide Lilian was amazing! I definitely need to do more cardio, and she was encouraging, eventhough I was slow, and stopped to give us information about the volcanoes in the area (and a second to catch my breath!). I would highly recommend this tour!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Best tour!
, Aug 2021
Would highly recommend this tour! About a hour hike up and down and a hour ride from Antigua there and back. Tour guide Catalina and bus driver were really nice! I had a good time. I rode a horse her name was princess! I would do it all over again. Had to pay extra Q50 to hike and Q100 to ride the horse one way.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you very much for your comment. We love to know that our clients enjoy the tour!
Good half day trip
, Mar 2020
Got up early to get this early morning experience but it did take 2 hours to get there. Be prepared to be in a vehicle for a long time. The hike was pretty easy and it was a really gorgeous view at the top. Got some nice marshmallows and guide was great. The ride back was also long but fantastic as we got to see Fuego Volcano and it was lively active! Overall I would say good.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great View, Challenging Hike
, Mar 2020
If you are not an avid hiker I would plan on taking a horse up the volcano. We ended up buying horses not that far in and enjoyed the rest of the trip. View from the top was amazing and we saw lots of lava flowing and spewing from Pecaya. Also I would recommend you bring a flashlight if you are doing the tour at night and something to cover your face with while you walk down. The path is very dusty in dry season and it was hard to avoid breathing it in.
1 traveler found this review helpful
I lava’d it!
, Feb 2020
Transport picked us up on time outside of our hotel. The ride to Pacaya Volcano was smooth. The guides were informative and kind. And the views of the volcano incredible! Make sure to take some snacks, water, and warm layers as it gets chilly at the top. Suggestion for tour operators: Perhaps it would be easier to set up a central pick up location? It seemed we went in circles in central Antigua to pick everyone up.
A wounderfull hike
, Feb 2020
The trip was well organized and a great value !Definetily worthy doing if you are up for a hike!If you are in fair shape without knee issues you should be fine
Good workers, terrible hike
, Jan 2020
Our transportation was late picking us up, however once we were on board, things went smoothly. The drivers were pleasant and our guide was great. He was knowledgeable and attentive. The hike itself was terrible. If you are not in good shape I wouldn't suggest it.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi Tjbatts., sorry you had a tough time with the hike. Regarding the pickup,... when the service is a collective transportation, it involves several people to be picked up, and that means several minutes to pick up ecerybody. And then you have some people that are not considerate, and take to long to leave their hotel. For this we are sorry, but that is the nature of collective services.

Explore Similar Things to Do