Recent Searches
Clear

Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs

star-4.5358 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Miguel de Cozumel, Mexico
Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Whether you're an experienced snorkeler or an absolute beginner, fully trained guides let you make the most of Cozumel's famous reef on this half-day snorkeling tour. Hit three of the island's hottest snorkeling spots: Palancar Reef, Columbia Reef and Playa el Cielo, known for the starfish that decorate its white sands. Your package includes drinks and snorkeling gear; marine fees are payable in cash on the day.
  • Snorkel Cozumel hotspots Palancar Reef, Columbia Reef and Playa el Cielo
  • Stay fueled with water, sodas, beers and a snack
  • Veteran guides point out marine life and can assist new snorkelers
  • Choice of departure times lets you plan your day and fit more in
Saved to wishlist!
Visit to Palancar and Columbia reefs, El Cielo Sandbar and El Cielito Beach
Guided snorkeling tour
Drinks: Beers, Water, Sodas and a Snack
Snorkel gear: Vest, Mask, New tube
Insured Shaded Boat
Experienced trained guides
Marine fee $6 usd Not included
Cozumel Ferry Terminal (Muelle Fiscal) , Avenida Rafael E. Melgar, Av Lic Benito Juárez con, Centro, 77600 San Miguel de Cozumel, Q.R., Mexico

Meeting time is 10 minutes before your Tour time at the Cozumel Ferry Terminal. Please Read the “Before you Go” section in your confirmation voucher after making your booking.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No Sunscreen Allowed due to Reef protection (Please apply before tour starts)
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Cozumel Tours and Excursions
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
358 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 358 reviews
star-4
Good snorkel trip! Had...
Barbara_S
, Aug 2022
Good snorkel trip! Had fun and the two guides were great! The time at El cielo with Guacamole and nachos in the water was a perfect idea, thanks!!
star-5
Great fun!
George_L
, Aug 2022
We loved swimming with the turtles and manta rays. My daughter loves the starfish also. They take you to 4 different spots. The first spot we didn’t see much, but the other 3 spots were good. Andre was our guide. He was excellent. Bilingual, very friendly, and extremely helpful. He took a bunch of go pro videos for us. We have had many guides before on other trips and Andre was one of the best. Thanks Andre! At the last stop we had some guacamole and chips! That was great.
star-4
Fun experience
Michael_C
, Aug 2022
The reef was pretty good. The starfish were great. The beach and floating guacamole were really really outstanding. The crews was very helpful and made the trip enjoyable. We felt very safe and were provided good life jackets and equipment
star-5
Snorkeling Fun
Brooke_L
, Aug 2022
We had a great experience snorkeling! If you’re traveling from playa del carmen(like we did) you’ll want to get on the ferry(be 30 min early as the ferry can sometimes leave 15 min prior to the scheduled time). Then you’ll meet the tour people at Maybe Tours after you get off the ferry. From there, they will taxi you over to the boat. Make sure you put on sunscreen before getting on the boat, we didn’t and got very burned! From there, you stop at 4 locations to see starfish, sea turtles, and lots of colorful fish. Rodrigo was a great tour guide! At the last stop, they provided various drinks and guacamole and we were allowed to swim around. Overall we had a great experience and would recommend this tour!
star-4
Beta
John_L
, Aug 2022
Beautiful water, lots of fish , starfish. Guides were fun . We had plenty of time at each stop. The Guys on the Beta had water , snacks, beer . We enjoyed the day
star-5
Chasing the sea turtles...
jack_f
, Aug 2022
Chasing the sea turtles in the ocean i enjoyed the beach party also I would like to have the email address for the tour operator becase they took underwater pictures
star-5
Awesome Day on the Water
Deborah_D
, Aug 2022
The incredibly beautiful colors of the water and the variety of fish seen. We saw a barracuda and got to swim with a turtle on the second stop. The starfish were like none ever seen before as well as the conch shells never seen other than in the store!
star-1
Terrible
Alejandra_B
, Aug 2022
When we arrived they told us they had no information on us and they couldn’t do anything for us. So I would like my money back because this experience was so sad for my family to witnesses.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Customer, Thank you for reaching out to us. In regards to this comment your booking was made last minute and this was commented to you upon arrival. We are the most popular Snorkeling tour company in Cozumel and have been for the past 10 years which is why our tours sell out fast. Please check your emails as this was refunded by our Viator partner 24 hours after or contact them at +1 702 648 5873 to verify they already processed a refund. Thank you, The Cozumel team
star-5
Excellent!!
Belinda_N
, Aug 2022
This was an amazing snorkeling trip! It was my sister's first time snorkeling and she wants to go back! We snorkeled the two reef locations and they made an extra stop before the star fish location and we were able to swim with the sea turtles!! Magnificent!! After the star fish we went to a shallow area and hung out for about 45 minutes and they provided fresh fruit and drinks... There were sting rays there!!! So all in all 5 separate area with sea life at them all!!! Highly recommend!!!
star-5
Super fun time!
Linna_D
, Aug 2022
We were on the Pechanga with Andres and Philly. We had an awesome time and got to see a lot of cool sea life. The energy Andres gave our group was awesome and we felt very comfortable and safe in their care. Philly made us the best guacamole too! It would’ve been nice to get flippers along with the snorkel and mask but it didn’t keep us from enjoying our time!
star-5
Fun trip with beautiful scenery!
Michele_L
, Aug 2022
My family of four went on this tour. Although we are adequate swimmers we have two in our group who are very cautious of deep water. We took this tour and were very comfortable. Our guide was with us the entire time in the water and was there to help if needed. We went to several spots that were very nice. I didnt go into the deepest as I have vision issues but my kids liked it. The star fish were very cool. Sand beautifully white. Water crystal clear. A very good. trip. Rodrigo and Gustavo were great. Our photographer (sorry cant remember name) took a lot of great gopro pics and was great about getting ones for the people who did not want to go deep. Not even sure how she managed it ;). We got multiple digital pictures for $35 which I thought was very reasonable. Wear a swim shirt! Thank you!
star-4
Very good
Ricardo_O
, Jul 2022
Boat is small, but pretty fast, so we were able to see the three reefs and enjoy a good time swimming at a sandbar. Crew is very attentive and takes good care of our needs. A very good experience
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Reefs are dead don’t bother doing this excursion
Mary_L
, Jul 2022
The reefs are dead. Depressing dead reefs At Columbia and planacar reef. El cielto did have starfish though. Alex guide and boat captain very nice. Annoying photographer. This excursion was the waste of money and time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Snorkeling
Duke_D
, Jul 2022
I have been to snorkeling excursions before. This trip was not nearly as nice as there is no clear instructions of what you can or can’t do. Once we have arrived at the excursions site for meet up it was very hard to find them bc they did not have signs or attempt to look for us. We had to run around like chickens looking them. With 3 snorkeling sites, the 1st was ok, 2nd site was horrible bc there was no fish at all. and We have to ask them To take us to another site or take us to the 3rd site. Two crew members and the guy in the water flat out said NO. We then ask the other crew member the driver and he finally said yes. We had a group of 15 people and most of us are not good swimmers. We have ask if they can throw another float down the water so we can hold on it the crew guy said yes but never follow through with his words after we have asked him 3-4 times. 3rd site was nice bc we have asked the boat driver to throw food down so the fish can come. Initially he said No and basically lied to us that there was no food when we actually saw it under the seats. Basically both guys are very negative and are not willing to go beyond for their customers. This made the experience not worth going:
star-5
unforgettable
kaegan_b
, Jul 2022
The experience was amazing and it’s something i’d again. our tour guide was great, his name was hasol (says it sounds like a-hole lol). i’m not happy with is the fact that I paid the tour photographer naomi, $30 for the pictures she had taken of me and my boyfriend, and I never got the pictures. which is why I have none to post for what a great time I had.
star-2
Not happy with boat or tour
Jeni_V
, Jul 2022
Was not happy with this tour with Maybe Tours. The boat was not what was pictured in the confirmation email they sent. It was very little and very hard to get in and out of. The places you visited where great but the guide made you stay with him and he swam right by the fish and didn’t let us have time to take pictures and enjoy ourselves. Usually we are given a perameter that we can swim in but that is not how this tour operated which made it not as good for us. Also you get wet in the boat the whole trip where it was so small so personal belongings had to be put up in a net and not accessible. Will never take a tour with maybe tours again.
star-3
The communication for the...
Lia_D
, Jul 2022
The communication for the tour was very clear, with emails sent beforehand and easy ways to pay. However, the corral reef looks like it's dead. Also, there wasn't much education given about how to interact with the corral reef (some people were touching it!). I wish tourist activities like these can find a better ways to balance with nature as to not go into overuse!
star-5
Excellent afternoon touring the reefs
Anonymous
, Jul 2022
Excellent tour and a marvelous way to spend a few hours! The beer and guacamole on the sandbar was a real treat. Would very much recommend.
star-5
The most amazing snorkeling experiencia
joni_B
, Jul 2022
Absolutely amazing experience. If you want a variety of sea life and some amount of time in the water go on this tour. We saw tons of fish, stingrays, a barracuda, tons of starfish and sea turtles. By far the best snorkeling trip yet.
star-5
Worth your time! Excellent excursion.
Sharon_S
, Jul 2022
Excellent crew, very friendly and attentive. They gave us pleny of time in the water seeing all kinds of fish, including a sea turtle. The last spot was amazing with guacamole, chips, and drinks. GO!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs
Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and El Cielo Reefs

star-4.5358

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-4123

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

star-4.5149

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.593

1 hour 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$49.00

star-4.5147

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-44

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.00

star-3.556

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00

star-4.534

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$150.00

star-5227

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations