Recent Searches
Clear
Alnwick Castle and Lindisfarne Day Trip from Edinburgh

Alnwick Castle and Lindisfarne Day Trip from Edinburgh

|
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
icon8 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
icon8 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Don’t worry—here are some similar options


icon8 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Take in Alnwick Castle, Lindisfarne and the Scottish Borders on this adventurous day trip from Edinburgh. Cross the Scottish border into England, and admire beautiful countryside views as a guide sheds light on the region’s colorful past. Stop for tea and scones (own expense) at the Hirsel — an idyllic country estate — then explore the Holy Isle of Lindisfarne, famous for its spectacular scenery and historic monastery ruins. Enjoy free time to visit Alnwick Castle — made famous in ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone’ and ‘Downton Abbey’ before returning to Edinburgh.
  • 8.5-hour Alnwick Castle, Lindisfarne and the Scottish Borders day trip from Edinburgh
  • Cross from Edinburgh into England as a guide highlights key events in the region’s history
  • Discover beautiful scenery and historic monastery ruins on the Holy Isle of Lindisfarne
  • Visit Alnwick Castle, widely considered the finest of its kind in England
  • Tour includes pickup and drop-off from your accommodation in central Edinburgh
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel drop-off
Entrance fees
Edinburgh , Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland
Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
4/5/2021 - 10/24/2021
Wednesday:08:30 AM - 06:30 PM
Saturday:08:30 AM - 06:30 PM
4/5/2022 - 10/24/2022
Wednesday:08:30 AM - 06:30 PM
Saturday:08:30 AM - 06:30 PM

After booking, the operator will contact you about pickup time.

This activity will end right where it started.Please contact us at least 24 hours before departure for your pickup information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Children under the age of 6 years old are not permitted to travel
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 48 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Gray Line Scotland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Reviews

4.0
star-4
19 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews
star-1
Cancelled
nsal07
, Oct 2019
Though it was understood that the tour could be cancelled if not enough participants signed up, we were so very disappointed that we could not get to Lindisfarne- one of our top chosen destinations for our trip ☹️
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
It is disappointing that you have chosen to rate us 1 star without having travelled with us. As you stated yourself you understood the booking terms and conditions that we need to reach minimum numbers to operate a tour and although we make every effort to operate a tour on low numbers, if there is only 1 booking then we will get in touch to offer an alternative or full refund. We hope to welcome you on board in the future.
star-4
Holy Island and Alnwick Castle
barbara_b
, Sep 2019
Very enjoyable and interesting. Seeing the path pilgrims take while the water level is low was fascinating. Alnwick Castle and finding out scenes from Downton Abbey were filmed there was exciting.
star-4
A nice day
Adventure58085488158
, May 2019
It was a nice day ... lindisfarme Castle the timing was just a bit short but no choice I we wanted to do the two castles and the botanic garden . Bill was a great guide ( either if it s difficult for me understand well with accent ... but he explained me very well about the way and the time we have to be back at the bus . Thank to him
star-3
Alnwick Castle was very enjoyable...
David_H
, Sep 2017
Alnwick Castle was very enjoyable and made our day. Lindisfarne was completely tented due to renovations which I believe should have been disclosed to us but the Abbey ruins located nearby were beautiful. The bus was dirty and the bathroom was a disaster. Lastly, the tour was to stop at The Hirsel, described as an idyllic country manor for tea and scones, which did not occur. Thankfully, Alnwick helped to overcome the issues identified which resulted in our rating of only 3 Stars. This Greyline Tour was overall disappointing and we can not recommend same.
star-4
What a lovely day out this was! Two...
Naomi H
, Aug 2017
What a lovely day out this was! Two wonderful sites to visit and other comfort/leg stretch stops along the way. The reason I gave 4stars is that the time allowed at Alnwick isn't really enough to see all that's there. To do castle and gardens properly you need at least another 30 minutes.
star-3
The good...The scenery of the...
Kathy P
, Jul 2017
The good...The scenery of the pastoral Scottish and English countryside was beautiful. The small towns we passed were quaint. Alnwick Castle was delightful and a lot of fun. The bad...The tour did not start at 9 am. We had to wait around for an extra 40 minutes because they were picking up other passengers. We left at 9:40 and arrived back at 5:30. We had to skip Lindisfarne because it was high tide that day and we would not be able to make it in an out on time. We were compensated with an extra time at Alnwick. But even with the extra time, it was not enough time to tour Alnwick and the gardens. It would have been better if the tour was longer. The tour guide was bland. I wished he had more stories to entertain us on the long drive. Overall, it's okay. It could be improved by being punctual and allotting more time at the castles. A major bonus point for me would be a tour guide that could entertain us with the colorful stories of the Scots. I've been on quite a few tours and even the average tour was made more enjoyable with a knowledgeable and funny tour guide.
star-4
A great daytrip from Edinburgh. The...
Ahmad_M
, Oct 2016
A great daytrip from Edinburgh. The tour guide was very friendly and enthusiastic. And I have a feeling they listened to the other reviewers here as we were fortunate enough to get more time at Alnwick Castle instead of more time at Lindisfarne. This made the trip better!
star-2
Honestly no where near enough time...
Jill M
, Sep 2016
Honestly no where near enough time at Alwick Castle another hour at least would be better. In addition to the time, despite the tour stating that entrance to the castle and gardens was not included we were basically held hostage on the bus while the driver went and purchased tickets for all of the people on the bus. We had purchased ours in advance but weren't allowed to get off the bus until the driver returned with everyone else's tickets.
star-3
I had a good trip to Lindisfarne and...
Erling S
, Aug 2016
I had a good trip to Lindisfarne and Alwick Castle. I was somewhat disappointed at Lindisfarne. Our stay there lasted for a little more than an hour, which is far too little. It's a place for contemplation, but there was no time for that. The highlight of the tour was obviously - according to the bus driver - Alnwick Castle. Alnwick Castle was very nice, but two hours would have been enough, not three. Lindisfarne would have been a better experience with one of those hours added. All in all it was a good trip though with a friendly bus driver, who provided us with information on the way to island and castle.
star-3
This trip was great, however there...
Emily S
, Jun 2016
This trip was great, however there are things that could have been better. You have to take into account the weather for one thing, and the tides. I would recommend booking when you know what the weather is going to be and after checking the tide times for Lindisfarne. It is also 2.5 hours to Alnwick, and 2.5 hours back, which really cuts into the time you have at each stop. You also need to keep in mind that Alnwick Castle entrance fee is not included in the price of the tour. This is something they really should advertise before buying. Also, if you're not a big fan of Harry Potter, you may get overwhelmed by all the brooms and wizards flying around. Overall, it was a fun experience and I would do it over again.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Alnwick Castle and Lindisfarne Day Trip from Edinburgh
Alnwick Castle and Lindisfarne Day Trip from Edinburgh

star-419

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$0.00

star-5450

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.31

star-4.5123

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.58

star-513

1 day

Free Cancellation

From
$65.96

star-4.5145

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$60.58

star-51

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.54

star-4.5705

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.31

Explore Similar Things to Do