Recent Searches
Clear

Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro

star-4.5104 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Faro, Portugal
Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Cruise the glittering waters of Ria Formosa Natural Park on a 3-hour sailing trip from Faro. After you climb aboard a luxurious catamaran, sail to natural landmarks like Deserta Island and Farol Island and scour the scenery for sightings of exotic birds. Observe the lives of locals as you listen to history and culture-rich commentary from your guide. Receive personalized attention on this small-group tour, limited to 10 passengers.
  • Visit natural landmarks like Deserta Island and Farol Island
  • Scour the scenery for exotic bird species
  • Observe locals in a quaint fishing village and learn about the region's rich culture
  • Receive personalized attention from your guide on this small-group tour
Saved to wishlist!
3-hour catamaran boat trip (includes a stop of 1 hour in Farol and 20 up to 30 minutes in Deserta)
Life vests
Local guide
Live commentary on board
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transportation to/from attractions
Food and drinks
Tips (Optional)
Formosamar - Boat Tours Passeios na Ria Formosa , Boat Tours - Formosamar Edifício Ginásio Clube Naval Doca de Recreio de Faro, 8000-541 Faro, Portugal

The meeting point for your tour is at our offices at the ground floor of the building of Ginásio Clube Naval de Faro (Nautical Club of Faro). Please be so kind and check in for your tour or activity with our team members at least 10 minutes before the departure time.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • A minimum of 2 adults per booking is required
  • A maximum of 11 people per booking
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Formosamar
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I recommend booking the tour on a weekday for a more private experience." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
104 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 104 reviews
star-5
Great experience! Very...
Yue_Z
, May 2022
Great experience! Very enjoyable during the whole trip with amazing view and interesting guide. I love the route of exploring the islands on a boat.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Sue_Z, Many thanks for your review and comment! We are very happy to read your comment and very happy to know that you had a very enjoyable and amazing tour with us! It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
Perfect rainy day
Barbara_C
, Apr 2022
It was a very rainy day and my husband and I were the only passengers. Just as we arrived at Deserta Island the sun came out and we had wonderful time exploring. Miguel, our boat captain and guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. On the second island, it was raining lightly, we had umbrellas with us and explored the brightly colored vacation cottages and witnessed breathtaking views of the ocean. As the waves crashed against the rocks. This excursion will remain in our memories for many years.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Barbara, Many thanks for your review and comment! We are very happy to read your comment and very happy to know that you had the perfect rainy day with us! It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
Very enjoyable
Bonnie_L
, Mar 2022
Tour guide was superb. Wry knowledgeable about the area with interesting stories about the area. Beautiful scenery.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Bonnie, Many thanks for your review and comment! We are very happy to read your comment and very happy to know that you had a very knowledgeable tour with interesting stories in the company of our guide! The scenery is very beautiful indeed! It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
Great tour
Mina_M
, Nov 2021
very nice, engaging and friendly tour guide ! good length of tour and enjoyed every moment. Of course due to Covid many places were shut but this didnt stop us having fun!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Mina, Many thanks for your review and comment! We are very happy to know that you had fun on our tour! It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-4
Nice afternoon tour
CHOOIGUAN_L
, Dec 2020
Got to visit two islands, Farouk and Illha Deserta. Was a pleasant afternoon with a nice guide who gave us background info on the islands and the wildlife. Good if you like walks. Nothing was open during this time of the “not deadly at all virus that shall not be named”, so be prepared to bring your own food and drink if you are hungry.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Good afternoon, Many thanks for your review and the words about our guide. It was a pleasure having you on board and we hope to see you visit us again. Once again many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards,
star-5
Great trip
Caroline_R
, Aug 2020
Our guide was really friendly and knowledgeable, in addition to English he spoke French and Spanish! We stopped half an hour on Ilha Deserta and one hour on Ilha do Farol, such a pleasant boat ride, it's designed for a small group (10 people) but we were only 5 which was perfect. I recommend booking the tour on a weekday for a more private experience.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hi! Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It's really good to know that you had a great time and enjoyed the trip! It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. We look forward your next visit here and send our best regards on behalf of all our team @ Formosamar. Carolina Lopes
star-2
Disappointing
Margaret_D
, Mar 2019
On the 1st of March I booked the 3hour Ria Formosa trip to share with friends We all arrived with great anticipation and starting off the trip ducking under the railway line We were laughing straight away and looking forward to an adventure We spent very little time within the Formosa and although the guide was very knowledgable and gave us a large card of pictures of birds we hoped to see none of this transpired we were whisked out across the lagoon to two islands one with a single inhabitant and his dog which could have been rugged and beautiful if it were not for all the rubbish and plastic lying on the beach We were then taken across the lagoon to the second island where we were left for 45 mins when 5 mins would have been sufficient Then back to the harbour without any further stops Very disappointing when we were expecting to have gone from Faro to Quinta meandering through the wildlife This was not my Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall moment !!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Dear costumer, Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience in Viator. We are sorry to hear that your tour did not meet your expectations. However, you have booked with us the boat trip to Deserta and Farol where we give to everyone the opportunity to stop at each of the islands in order to enjoy in the way you wish better. Our philosophy is to make your experience as much enjoyable as possible of the area so our guides aim at doing their best to share their knowledge of Ria Formosa to all our guests.The time you spent with in the Formosa is accordingly to this tour to give the opportunity to stop in the islands. If you have preferred to spend more time within the Ria Formosa you could have asked us and we could have arranged a tour to satisfy your need. On behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
This tour was very relaxing, with...
Veronika_F
, Apr 2018
This tour was very relaxing, with amazing views. We met the tour guide at the harbor and boarded a small boat. We then drove towards the islands, and our guide was telling us interesting facts about Faro and the surrounding area. We visited two islands on our tour, which was a neat experience with some breathtaking views of the Atlantic ocean. One of the islands has a beautiful beach, with a small restaurant on it. Even though it was not warm enough to go in the water, we enjoyed strolling on the beach and the views.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear costumer, Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to know that you had such an excellent time and really enjoyed the trip with us in the Natural Park Ria Formosa . We´re also very glad to hear your nice words about the explanations of our guide which make us very proud of our team. It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Once again many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
Faro is an excellent location to use...
Thirunavuk Aras R
, Nov 2017
Faro is an excellent location to use for travel to the rest of the Algarve. Trains and buses connect to all points of the South Portugal and beyond.Flights are convenient.The culinary adventures can be blended with comfort food and delicious desserts.Most of all,local service people and the citizens are caring and attentive to your questions. This was a brilliant trip to enjoy and relax oneself.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear costumer, Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to know that you had such an excellent time with us and really enjoyed the trip with us in the Natural Park Ria Formosa . We´re also very glad to hear your kind words about about the Portuguese as well as Faro city and everything that it can offer. It was a pleasure having you on board and we hope to see you visit us again. Once again many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
This was a great day out. The guide...
Sandra H
, Aug 2017
This was a great day out. The guide was very informative and entertaining. Very glad we chose this trip. Would definitely recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Hi Sandra, Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience in Viator. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us. It´s also really good to know that you find it recommendable. We´re also very glad to hear your nice words about our guide which make us very proud of our team. It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Once again many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-4
great time did not have the chance...
Marine N
, Jul 2017
great time did not have the chance to see much bird and only visited 2 islands whereas it was say that we will see 4 of them but it was still a great time, peacefull and very pretty!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Hi Marine, Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience in Viator. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us and liked the islands in the Natural Park Ria Formosa . It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Once again many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-3
Boat ride spoilt by the weather...
Peter S
, Apr 2017
Boat ride spoilt by the weather - raining for much of the trip. Catamaran itself was good as was the skipper Fernando. I'd have liked a bit more time spent on the bird life/watching than on the two stops but I guess the weather did not help. Nice trip though.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Dear Peter, Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience in Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that you had a nice trip with us in the Natural Park Ria Formosa despite the rainy weather that is quite normal in April in our country. We have a trip specifically for bird watching,with binoculars provided by us, which would be more interesting for you. We´re also very glad to hear your nice words about our guide Fernando, which make us very proud of our team, as well as about our catamaran. It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Once again many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
Seemless and hassle free from start...
Stephen_L
, Feb 2017
Seemless and hassle free from start to finish. Boat has luxury seating so a very comfortable ride. Great timings and you get to spend plenty of time looking around the islands. Highly recommended.... Tip: Take a hat as the journey back in can be a bit blowy. :-)
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear customer, Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience in Viator. We are very glad to know that you had such a great time time with us in the islands of the Natural Park Ria Formosa and that you consider it seemless and hassle free. Guest feedback is very important for us so it´s great to know that you highly recommend it. It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Once again many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
Francisco was excellent, very...
Andrew_K
, Oct 2016
Francisco was excellent, very knowledgeable about the wildlife and history of the area, plus has a great sense of humor. The boat was very clean and my kids had a great time. It was a highlight of our 6 days in the Algarve.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear customer, Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience in Viator. We are very glad to know that you had a great time with us and really enjoyed the trip in the islands of the Natural Park Ria Formosa. We´re also very glad to hear your nice words about the explanations of our guide Francisco which make us very proud of our team. It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Once again many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
One of the best boat trips we have...
Keith T
, Jun 2016
One of the best boat trips we have done. Plenty of interest and a superb boatman Pedro who had good knowledge and a good sense of humour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Hi Keith, Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience in Viator. We are very glad to know that you had such an excellent trip with us in the islands of the Natural Park Ria Formosa. Guest feedback is very important for us so it´s also really good to know that you consider it one of your best boat trips. We´re also very glad to hear your kind words about our guide Pedro which make us very proud of our team. It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Once again many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-2
A déconseiller
Roxane_E
, Nov 2021
Nul, l’expérience est une arnaque, ils avaient une heure de retard et sont rentré 25min plus tôt. On avait pas de temps sur les îles. Prenez le ferry c’est moins chère et ça vaut plus la peine
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Roxane, Many thanks for your review and comment! We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you expecting! I can not recall any delay on that specific tour on the specific date, however for reasons beyond our control delays might happen, but there is one thing that we are always strict with, and that is the duration of the tour, so, regardless of the delay we never finish the tour earlier. It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
Super
Helene_B
, Nov 2021
Super balade en bateau avec les explications du guide sur les différentes îles et les oiseaux , arrêt sur deux îles très jolies . Je recommande!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Helene, Many thanks for your review and comment! We are very happy to know that you had a super tour with us! It was a pleasure having you on board and we do hope to see you visit us again. Many thanks for your preference and on behalf of our team @ Formosamar we send our regards.
star-5
Vacances 2021
France_D
, Aug 2021
Belle ballade avec un guide Fernando qui a bien pris le temps de nous expliquer la faune et l’éco système de ces îles , petit groupe en plus , à recommander pour découvrir d’autres trésors de ce pays
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Bonjour Maria, Merci beaucoup d´avoir votre temps et partagé votre expérience avec Viator. Ce fut un plaisir de vous avoir à bord et nous espérons vous revoir bientôt. Au nom de notre équipe @ Formosamar, nous vous adressons nos salutations distinguées.
star-5
Une super balade
Nathalie_M
, Aug 2021
Un guide super sympa, intéressant et plein d'humour et des plages très agreables À recommander pour passer un bon moment
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Bonjour Nathalie, Merci beaucoup d´avoir votre temps et partagé votre expérience avec Viator. Nous sommes très heureux de savoir que vous avez passez une super balade avec nous et que vous nous recommandez. Nous sommes également heureux déntendre vos gentils mots sur notre guidece qui nous rend très fiers de notre équipe. Ce fut un plaisir de vous avoir à bord et nous espérons vous revoir bientôt. Au nom de notre équipe @ Formosamar, nous vous adressons nos salutations distinguées.
star-5
No os lo perdáis
Asier_R
, Aug 2020
Un tour muy divertido. Pasamos una mañana genial en faro visitando las islas. Nos echamos buenas risas con Philipe, el guía.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Estimado Asier, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios! Nos encanta saber que han hecho un paseo en la Ría Formosa con nosotros y que han pasado una mañana genial y divertida. Aguardamos vuestra próxima visita y una vez más muchas gracias por su preferencia. Saludos cordiales de nuestro equipo @ Formosamar, Carolina Lopes

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro
Ilha Deserta and Farol Island: a small group boat trip in Ria Formosa from Faro

star-4.5104

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$32.11

star-585

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$32.11

star-540

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$21.41

star-4.578

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$11.18

star-5252

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$32.11

star-5600

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$37.47
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations