Recent Searches
Clear

Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

|
Geneva, Switzerland
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Discover the allure of the European Alps on a full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in Europe, from Geneva. With a guide, travel through the splendor of the countryside to Chamonix, a picturesque Alpine town. Upgrade options include ticket to ascend the Aiguille de Midi peak in a modern cable car; a scenic railway ride to Montenvers, home to Mer de Glace; and a French-style lunch in Chamonix.
  • Full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc in France from Geneva, led by a professional guide
  • Drive through the Arve Valley to Chamonix
  • Choose from different tour options to suit your preferences
  • Ride the cable car to the summit of the Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
  • Marvel at spectacular views of the Swiss, French, and Italian Alps, including Mont Blanc and the Matterhorn
  • Hop aboard the cog railway to Montenvers and enjoy a 3-course lunch in Chamonix (if option selected)
  • Tour includes round-trip travel from Geneva

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour offers both independent sightseeing and a guide on the coach to give you the scoop on Mont Blanc.
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Cable car ride to summit of Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
Train ride to Montenvers (if option selected)
Lunch (if option selected)
Skip the line tickets
Guide if more than 10 people or driver guide for small groups
Geneva Bus Station , 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

Place Dorcière 1201 Geneva

8:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Select from a variety of options and customize your tour according to your preferences. The guide provides historical insight on the region, and then climb aboard a comfortable coach in central Geneva to begin your journey. Admire stunning scenery as you drive to the Alpine village of Chamonix and marvel at the village’s majestic location at the foot of Mont Blanc on arrival.

Select from the tours listed in the Itinerary section to determine the schedule and price of your day in Chamonix and Mont Blanc. Please note from November 6th to December 15th is the annual closure of the Aiguille du Midi.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Geneva
Board our bus to Chamonix Mont Blanc, the bus will have the name of the tour
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Aiguille du Midi
If option selected - Ride up the cable car and discover a spectacular panoramic view of the Chamonix Valley and the French, Swiss and Italian Alps at 3842m ! On a clear day, you may even see the Mattherhorn, the famous Swiss peak and icon of Switzerland – it’s even found on packages of delicious Toblerone chocolate. If it’s open, you can try the unique adventure: "Step into the Void" BREATHTAKING! ( queue can be expected for the step into the void/glass box)
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Statue of Balmat and Saussure
Take a photo of the most famous Alpinistes
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Montenvers - Mer de Glace Train
If option selected - Discover the well known Ice Sea, take the mountain train until the Montenvers station and enjoy the panorama. If you feel brave and if it's open ( not guarateed), you can go down the small gondola and the 500 steps to visit the Ice Caves
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Chamonix
Explore the stunning alpine scenery of Chamonix in the French Alps. Chamonix is a picturesque town and the most famous mountain resort in France; from everywhere in the city if you look at the sky …you will see It – The roof of Europe – The Majestic Mont-Blanc. Enjoy the bus ride to the third natural mountain spot most visited in the world.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for children aged 2 and under
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Please dress appropriately for a day in the mountains; even if it is warm and sunny in Geneva, it can be cold and wet in Chamonix or at the top of the Aiguille du Midi and on the Mer de Glace
  • The operation of the Aiguille du Midi cable car and Mer de Glace train are both subject to local weather conditions on the day
  • Please note there is unplanned maintenance on the Aiguille du midi cable car at the moment, an alternative cable car will be offered with a similar view
  • If one of the activity closes, there will be alternative offers, or partial refunds, but the transports won't be refunded in any case
  • Please note that the official currency of France is the EURO. Swiss francs are unlikely to be accepted in Chamonix
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel, as you will be travelling from Geneva (Switzerland) to Chamonix (France)
  • Please note: guide will be present with you on the bus and the village. You will have free time in the cable car or train and the guide will meet you after.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please note that if you take the Aiguille du Midi and Mer de Glace options, you will be provided with a multipass. Multipass which gives access to all the facilities of the Mont Blanc company. If you use this Multipass for a single activity, it will be considered by the Compagnie du Mont-Blanc as used and cannot be refunded if the other activities are closed. The Mont Blanc company offers alternative activities but does not authorize refunds of the multipass.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Keytours (Switzerland)
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Note to anyone going on this tour - it is extremely cold and windy - dress warmly and wear proper shoes!" See review
  • "If the weather is good, and the Mer de Glace glacier is open to visit, Montenvers is a must." See review
  • "The Mt Blanc gondola is subject to weather conditions, especially winds, even when the weather is otherwise clear." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
801 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 801 reviews
star-5
A great, full, day trip!
Christy_W
, Aug 2022
We had a great time on this tour! It is jam packed, no real free time to wander Chaminoux but a worthwhile way to see the spectacular Mont Blanc and explore the ice cave (if you do the train add on, which is cool!). Niels was our guide and was excellent!
star-5
Unforgettable experience
Sukriti_W
, Aug 2022
Spectacular view ! Unforgettable experience . I was really amazed at the sheer beauty of the Alps and would really recommend everyone to book this tour. It’s absolutely worth it
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoy the mountains and the view on the unique mont blanc. We hope you keep good souvenirs
star-5
If in Geneva do take the trip
Edwin_S
, Aug 2022
A wonderful ,memorable trip. The journey was comfortable. Our guide Chris was excellent in communication and knowledge. Views were breathtaking.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We will pass your message to Chris. We are glad for you you liked the view , the trip during your holiday.
star-5
Great day out - well...
Anne_O
, Aug 2022
Great day out - well worth it I could have done with a bit more commentary but what there was was fine
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the mountains views ane the incredible Mont Blanc
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent! A must!
Rachelle_B
, Aug 2022
A great tour and the complete tour is a must. The cable car up to mont blanc is must and this is from someone who absolutely has a fear of heights and does not enjoy these things. Do it. The train ride is spectacular. Our tour guide Neil was a joy!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning! thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoy your day and you have memorable souvenirs. We will pass your comment to Neil! Have a safe travel
star-3
Location not to be missed
sharon_s
, Aug 2022
Fabulous trip-location- guide was not great. Spoke too much and confused everyone re: meeting spots.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy the views. Taking a tour included commentaries of the guide. Best regards
star-1
Paid for full experience, train journey cancelled and not been refunded.
George_H
, Jul 2022
I wish I could give this trip 5 stars, but I can't. Unfortunately my train ride to Montenvers was cancelled. I was really disappointed because I was really looking forward to it. The tour guide told us we would automatically get refund and a few weeks after the trip I didn't receive anything. I then requested a refund and they kept refusing, and not telling me why. It is very disappointing paying extra for the train journey only for it to be cancelled and not have the train journey refunded.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review. A cogwheel train can derail or moreover like 3 days ago, a pilar fell doan on the tracks, unfortunately we cannot prevent this causes. You have been refunded for the train part on the day by the guide. Giving a 1 star review, when the rest of the day was good is a bit extreme. Best regards
star-5
A great experience!
Ginger_Z
, Jul 2022
A very nice trip indeed. The tour guide was really a transportation coordinator, did not talk much about the place and nearby area. But the trip itself is very well organised, a great itinerary.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy the views and the mountains, It's quite incredible and the most popular tour around Geneva. Best regards
star-5
You have to see it
Zaid_S
, Jul 2022
Ver organized the guide was super good his name Neal’s the bus was very clean and the place was breathtaking I’m not sure the photos can tell you the experience you have to see it your self The only comments I suggest is to allowed more time to visit ice cave the time was tied other than that it was amazing experience
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review! We ae glad you enjoy the tour and you keep good memories of it! Have a safe travel
star-5
Very fun and enjoyable trip
Yi_Y
, Jul 2022
We enjoyed our tour guide, Neil, who is very knowledgeable with a lovely sense of humor. The tour is very well organized and hits all the key attractions without getting rushed. Wish we could spend a bit more free time in Chanonix.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the views, the tour and Neil, we will forward the message to him. Have a nice travel!
star-5
Best day trip ever ! Mountains, quant village, snow, glaciers-it has it all!
James_W
, Jul 2022
Only do this if you go with Chris, he is the best guide ever. He knew what order for us to do things so we could maximize our day and get everything in! We had enough time to view the gorgeous area and grab a quick sandwich at the base of the chair lift (or bring your own to save time). Layer your clothes for the top. This is a must do trip if in Geneva!
star-5
It was a great...
Safwaan_D
, Jul 2022
It was a great experience. We traveled as a family. The guide was very sweet and friendly. He communicated well in English and was very considerate to our family as we travelled with two small kids and a 2 month old baby. He shared a lot of information. Champonix is a must see if one is able to.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoy the trip, the most important is that you have good souvenirs of the day. Take care
star-5
Amazing scenery, awesome trip
Tamas_K
, Jul 2022
Awesome trip. Full program with beautiful scenery. Quick bus ride to Chamonix then up to the top of the mountain. We spent like 1 and half hours up there. It is so beautiful. Then we went with the mountain train to the ice cave. It was so beautiful. For us it was around 50 min so we still had am hour to look around in Chamonix. The guide Chris was awesome too :) very recommended trip
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Wonderful Experience
Paula_W
, Jul 2022
This was an exciting tour to see some wonderful scenery and to enjoy visiting Chamonix (a great ski/hiking village). The weather delayed the cable car rides. but our guide hurried us through earlier than expected. Bring lots of layers in case of changing weather. We enjoyed the rain ride and the chance to see the ice tube (even though you will need to descend and then climb up 600 steps to experience it. It is a long day but food (and toilets) are abundant at Chamonix.
star-4
Enjoyed
Jonathan_H
, Jul 2022
Good trip, well guided. Steps down to glacier very hard to do. Not recommended for the unfit. 600 steps down and 600 steps back up.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A must see!
Jamie_D
, Jun 2022
Tour was excellent from start to finish. Chris the tour guide was extremely helpful, and made sure everyone got to see everything before the weather closed in. All in all a fantastic experience. Would recommend to anyone!
star-5
Wonderful trip
AgnesDewi_F
, Jun 2022
The tour was seamless. Very well organized. Neil, our tour guide was perfect and entertaining. Glad that I chose this tour
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Good morning Agnes, thank you very much for your review. We will forward it to Neil. We are glad you enjoy your day, the tour and the surroundings. Have a nice holiday
star-2
Save your $$
Mary_A
, Jun 2022
We anticipated a great trip as the cost was significant! Unfortunately, we were not able to do what we signed up for and the guide and assistant were missing for the majority of the trip. For $450 the cancellation of all of the events and a substitution for one was ridiculous. The weather ended in great sunshine but our guide was missing. He showed up fir 5 minutes at 2:00 and said go shopping. We met at 4:30 and waited on a bus he never got on for other people not in the tour to get on the bus. The tour guide and assistant did not return. This is awful. What a waste of funds.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review. However we don't understand it. You sign up the bus round trip to Chamonix, the guide is not going up on the activities as mentionned prior. He's guiding on the bus and in the village but on the top of the activities, you have free time to do pictures. The bus meeting is at 5 so that is why aou had to wait you came earlier. He returned on the bus. We still you enjoyed the views as Chamonix is the most famour resort in France
star-4
Excellent, but slightly rushed
Daniel_C
, Jun 2022
Our guide Niels was excellent, very knowledgeable and kept us well informed of the plan for the day. Both the cable car and train were very good, and both worth doing, however the day does feel quite rushed with both options - we missed the recommended cable car down for lunch by 20 minutes as we wanted to do the "Step into the void" and there was a queue, however we did still have plenty of time to get food by the time we got down before going to the train. The time at Mer De Glace was just enough to walk down to the ice cave and get back up again with around 10-15 minutes to spare before the train back. All in all, though, a very enjoyable day, and not one you'd regret booking.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Daniel, thank you very much for your review. We will forward it to Niels. We are sorry you feel rushed. The step in the void does take a lot of time. We are glad you enjoy the views and the city. It gives memorables souvenirs. We wish you a safe travel
star-5
So fun! Chris was great....
eleanor_m
, Jun 2022
So fun! Chris was great. Well scheduled day and not a penny wasted. Super awesome area and kind people.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Good morning Eleanor, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the trip and you have good memories. We will pass your message to Chris. Best regards

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

star-4800

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$118.37

star-4155

8 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$81.45

star-4.58

4 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$226.96

star-3.524

6 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$95.56

star-4.54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$167.24

star-31

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.79

star-45

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$322.53

star-00

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.15

star-42

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$182.44
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations