Recent Searches
Clear

Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour

star-4.5222 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Hobart, Australia
Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 8 more

Overview

Book a 1- or 2-day pass on a Hobart hop-on hop-off bus tour for an easy way to explore the city's top attractions at your own pace. Travel by double-decker red bus to 20 stops around the city, where you can hop off whenever you wish to visit the places that interest you. Or opt to stay onboard the bus for the full loop.
  • See Hobart independently with provided transportation
  • Choose between a 24- and 48-hour pass
  • Listen to commentary about the city when you're on the bus
  • Stops include Battery Point, Salamanca Place, and Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens
Saved to wishlist!
24-hour or 48-hour hop-on hop-off city loop ticket
A free copy of Red Decker’s The Official Sightseeing Guide to Hobart
WiFi on board
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • OPERATED BY Red Decker Company
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I recommend starting early morning if you plan a few stops as the buses come to each stop hourly." See review
  • "I'd recommended the 48 hour pass as there is way too much to fit into one day." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
222 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 222 reviews
star-5
Great way to see Hobart city
Michelle_S
, Jul 2022
The tour guide Tony was amazing very informative and friendly and funny. Loved the convenience of being able to hop on and off anywhere
star-5
Hobart
Daniel_S
, Jun 2022
Great way to get a quick history of Hobart City!! Wish the tour could have been longer! Thankyou for the experience!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Daniel_S. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent Red Decker tour. We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review. We hope that you visit Hobart again soon. Many thanks. Fiona Tour Manager
star-4
It was great and very...
Rebecca_S
, May 2022
It was great and very informative. Great way to start your trip to get your bearings. Unfortunately it was a bit hard to her the bus drivers comments btwn the recorded commentary which was a bit disappointing b/c what he said we very interesting. We were on the top deck so maybe that why.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Helllo Rebecca_S, Thank you for your tour feedback We are pleased you enjoyed your tour and you found it informative. In regard to not being able to hear the drivers commentary I do apologise. I have flagged this with our maintenance team and they will look into this for you as a matter of priority. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Many thanks. Kind regards, Fiona Tour Manager Red Decker Company
star-5
Do it!
Belinda_C
, May 2022
Lovely experience - got to see a lot of Hobart :) I highly recommend it. The botanical gardens, the museums, Cascade brewery
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Belinda_C, Thank you for the time you have taken to write your review. It is much appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your tour and we hope you visit Hobart again soon. Many thanks. Kind regards, Fiona Tour Manager. Red Decker Company
star-2
nothing how could you...
roy_w
, May 2022
nothing how could you call it hop on hop off when if you hoop off you have to wait 2 hours for next bus???
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello roy_w, Many apologies our tour did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Our timetable is reduced (4 x departures/ day) during May - September visitation to Tasmania is traditionally lower than our traditionally peak travel time October - April. Great news is we are certainly reviewing this at the moment for this time next year. Thank you for your honest feedback in this regards to this. This is most helpful. We are currently the only hop on hop off service operating 7 days a week in Australia during this COVID recovery phase and for the smallest capital city in Hobart we believe this is most definitely a positive! Our tours and times are planned a year in advance. If more visitors are coming to Tasmania and requesting more bus departures then we welcome this greatly. We offer full tour refunds for people that are not 100% happy with their tours. Please contact our office to arrange this. We hope to see you in Hobart again soon and I am sure that if you hop on our tour again your experience will be a more positive one. Many thanks. Kind regards. Fiona Tour Manager Red Decker Company
star-5
great
JULIANNE_P
, May 2022
great service and local knowledge and comfortable bus and good scenery. -- thank you---very much-----------------------------------------------------------------
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello JULIANNE_P, Thank you for your tour feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your tour. We hop you visit Tasmania again soon. Many thanks. Fiona Tour Manager Red Decker Company
star-5
Loved the old houses and...
Gai_F
, May 2022
Loved the old houses and gardens. The commentary was excellent. Although I didn’t get off loved the round trip
star-5
Must do in Hobart
Tanya_V
, May 2022
The commentary was informative and interesting and the driver obviously loves Hobart city. Loved the experience on the top deck and we were blessed with perfect weather too!
star-5
Excellent service
Robert_K
, May 2022
It was a great experience. Our Driver was very knowledgeable and pleasant. Highly recommend the Hop on Hop off bus.
star-5
Great way to see Hobart
Cindy_J
, Apr 2022
I just like the whole bus trip. It took you all over Hobart which has a lot of history and interesting places to explore
star-5
The bus drivers were like...
Angelina_G
, Apr 2022
The bus drivers were like your guides friendly nice and were more like tour guides than bus drivers. They made the drive fun . The help they were giving to people was fantastic . The stops they had was great stops
star-5
Relaxing informative historical experience
Simon_C
, Apr 2022
Great way to explore Hobart Town - great guided tour - looking forward to our trip again today - amazing weather on this Anzac weekend in Tasmania
star-5
We enjoyed the trip and the tour us very informative, thank you!
MichelMark_B
, Apr 2022
Very detailed information of every stop! Clean bus and every stop is very accessible to everything! City tour is one of the best
star-5
The historical aspects...
Naomi_W
, Apr 2022
The historical aspects shared on the tour were very interesting and informative. We really enjoyed looking at the suburbs of Battery Point and Sandy Bay.
star-3
A good way to see most of...
Valerie_D
, Apr 2022
A good way to see most of the city. There was two commentaries the one from the driver you could not hear upstairs. Mask wearing was not enforced once people were seated which made us very uncomfortable as higher risk people for COVID-19.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello Valerie_D, Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent Red Decker tour. Yes you are correct Tasmanian Laws still require mask to be worn on public transport. We do ask our customers at all times whilst travelling on the buses to wear masks, we have signage displayed inside the bus stating this, and our drivers also carry complementary masks on the buses if people have forgotten to bring one with them. Our drivers and staff are also required to wear masks. We trust that our passengers will do the right thing and wear masks at all times whilst on the bus, and most people as in the general community do in general comply. In regards to enforcement this is challenging as our drivers are located in enclosed cabs looking forward, focused on safely maneuvering the bus around the city loop and are not necessarily always looking back in the mirrors located in the bus ensuring that those who boarded the bus with masks are still wearing them correctly. If we do see people not necessarily doing the right thing in regards to mask wearing we are well versed in giving a polite quick reminder. We do have open aired buses which are ideal during COVID in reducing the risk of virus spread. Our buses are cleaned after each loop and when possible we recommend that people sit spread out on the bus and utilise the outside area to travel. We also have strict no travel rules for example for anyone who is unwell. We are always up for suggestions however to improve our bus service so please contact our tour office to discuss further. I apologise that you were unable to hear the drivers commentary. If our drivers are made aware of this then they would certainly be happy to up the volume! Most of our drivers love hearing themselves talk to be honest! (just joking if any of our drivers are reading this!). We hope to see you in Hobart again soon. Thank you for providing feedback. We hope you had a great holiday in our beautiful state. Kind regards. Fiona G Tour Manager Red Decker Co
star-4
Wonderful way to explore Hobart city
Sharon_M
, Apr 2022
Lovely to explore Hobart and hear about the history. Got caught out on the booking process and didn't realise prices were in US dollars and felt it was too expensive for what was offered.
star-5
The usual great tour of a city
Pauline_B
, Apr 2022
We nearly always use the Hop-on-Hop-off bus whenever we visit somewhere new to get an idea of the place. We did the same again in Hobart and it was great. This time we got off at the Botanical Gardens which was near the end of the loop. This gave us time to walk around the gardens, have lunch and hop back on the bus to take us back near our hotel. Loved it.
star-5
Na
Robyn_B
, Apr 2022
Very friendly service. Loved the 48 hr pass. Great to jump on and off. Loved the top deck experience and awesome views. Thank you
star-3
EXPENSIVE!!!
shane_h
, Apr 2022
a very expensive bus trip ($90 was the only option i could find on the website) the recorded talking was a bit repetitive but ok.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello shane_h, Thank you for the time you have taken to write your review. We are pleased that you found the commentary to be satisfactory. We are disappointed to read your feedback though in regards to the tour costing. I have located your tour booking and the $90 selected was for 2 people, the 48 hour (2 day) hop on hop off ticket option. If you do visit Hobart again we do have a 24 hour hop on hop off ticket option as well which is slightly cheaper at $35/ person. We do regularly review our tours including our tour pricing. We are very conscious of keeping the cost of our tours down and making them affordable for those visiting our beautiful city. Keeping this in mind our ticket/ tour prices haven't increased for the past 5 years despite the cost of running the bus service steeply increasing due to sharp increases in fuel etc. You may be surprised to know that we are also the cheapest hop on hop off bus service in Australia! We do appreciate all feedback and thank you for the time you have taken to write your review and provide feedback. We hope to see you in Hobart again soon. Kind regards, Fiona G Tour Manager
star-5
Great day out
Jenna_M
, Apr 2022
Great day out. This was an Easy way to see the sights and the driver imparted his local knowledge to us

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour

star-4.5221

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.28

star-4.514

2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$45.09

star-4.551

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$26.36

star-582

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$45.09

star-513

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$26.36

star-5142

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.49

star-51

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$215.43

star-51

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$109.54
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations