Recent Searches
Clear

Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour

|
South Lake Tahoe, United States
Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 5 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Get to know Lake Tahoe while keeping your eyes on the road and the magnificent scenery with a self-guided audio tour designed for listening in your own car. Many of Tahoe's natural and historic treasures are tucked away, but this downloadable smartphone app will take you to must-see locations and hidden gems. Start and stop the tour whenever you like, and explore Tahoe at your own pace.
  • Fun and flexible way to make the most of your time in Lake Tahoe
  • Learn Tahoe trivia and history as you drive to different landmarks
  • Low price for the budget-friendly app is per car
  • App never expires and can be launched and paused any time
Saved to wishlist!
Live GPS Map
Works Offline
Audios, Images, and Text
Family-friendly
Flexible Planning
Email, Chat, Call Support
Entrance Ticket
Vehicle Rental
Food, Drinks & Parking
4118 Lake Tahoe Blvd , 4118 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150, USA

After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection.

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
3/18/2020 - 6/7/2023
Monday - Sunday:06:00 AM - 11:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No expiration — The tour comes with lifetime validity!
  • Most travelers can participate
  • After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY 17 Mile Day Trips
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This was much better(and less expensive) than a personally guided tour because we could do it at our own pace and stop whenever we wanted for as long as we wanted." See review
  • "You sometimes need to watch the map for the numbers as occasionally it didn't play and we went to list and played manually." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
43 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews
star-5
Great tour!
Kris_H
, May 2022
We really enjoyed this tour! Our hotel was on the north side of Lake Tahoe, so we were hoping to be able to start it from our location instead of the South Lake Tahoe starting point. I called customer service and was basically told that starting from a different point wasn’t advisable. So, we drove 30 minutes to the starting point and began our tour. Loved it! I’m glad we can do it again in the future because we plan to come back!
star-5
Great travel companion!
Ray_C
, May 2022
We only got about 1/4 the way around the lake but the audio tour was excellent! Full of stories and trivia in between the sights. An enjoyable travel companion.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Lake Tahoe has so much to see! And you can still see the other ¾ with this tour anytime in the future (it’s valid forever and will never expire). So no worries about exploring the rest of the lake whenever you have time. I also have more self-guided tours all over the country — hope you check them out before your next vacation!
star-2
Bad idea when snowing
David_W
, May 2022
Had difficulty getting used to App. The directions were ok once figured out how to use. Had difficulty determining if "you have arrived" to sync verbal summary of sight with where we were at. Also could only get first 20 miles or so completed as it was snowing and the roads were narrow and a bit too scary to drive based on the weather conditions. If I knew the future portion of the trip was at lower elevation we could have proceeded, but this was an unknown safety portion of the trip so we turned around and went back to South Tahoe.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Good news — you can take the tour again when it’s not snowing! The tour is valid forever and can be used an infinite number of times. And please note that the stories will begin slightly BEFORE you see the sight so that you have time to decide if you want to pause/pull in/hike there/etc.
star-5
We downloaded the app the...
Pamela_M
, May 2022
We downloaded the app the night before. Got into the rental car. Plugged the phone in and away we went. It was great stopped when we stopped and started right back up when we did. Turkey enjoyed all the stories’
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Awesome! I’m so glad my tour helped make your visit to Lake Tahoe special. Hope you get the chance to try my other tours in the future!
star-5
Little journey to tahoe
Daniel_C
, May 2022
Me and my wife really enjoyed viator. I like all the spots it told us to stop and view also the history of Lake Tahoe.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you a lot! I'm overjoyed that you both liked my self-guided tour of Lake Tahoe purchased through Viator. If you liked the self-guided experience, I actually have a number of other tours as well, all across the country — hope you get to check them out on your future travels!
star-3
83rd birthday
Maria_C
, Feb 2022
Our mother who celebrated her 83rd birthday had her first drive around the lake. Because of the snow many of the areas were closed.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thanks Maria! We note the winter hours for all the optional museums, historic houses, etc. along the way — and we specifically clarify that we cannot guarantee their opening hours. Lots of snow certainly has an impact on all destinations!
star-1
Not car play compatible
FaizShaikh
, Dec 2021
Not car play compatible Was expecting it to have at least that amount of features Also, narrator talked about some mansions but we couldn’t see any of them from the route
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Unfortunately there’s nothing we can do about CarPlay (Apple has not approved the feature for the app). That’s why we recommend a phone holder. Mansions that we believe are worth visiting are mentioned, with their parking lots pointed out.
star-1
Awful
Mark_J
, Dec 2021
App doesn't work asked for help was disconnected never again. A rip off. Shouls get a refund if they were reputable
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hi Mark, we got your call about seeing a blank screen. We walked you through the fix and you said it worked. So this review is definitely a surprise. Please feel free to call back or e-mail us for the next steps.
star-1
I did not get to use the...
Jacqueline_B
, Nov 2021
I did not get to use the service. Tried many times. It was a disaster. Give me my REFUND. Yr service I wouldn't use again or recommend to anyone
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
We’d be more than happy to help! We have 24/7 support over call, chat, and email, and are able to get everyone set up to enjoy the tour immediately. Please contact us whenever you have trouble.
star-5
Exploring Tahoe
Jose_C
, Nov 2021
Listening to all the amazing stories about places of lake Tahoe that we didn’t even know it was amazing
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thanks, Jose! I’m thrilled that our tour helped make your Tahoe visit so special! I hope you get the chance to try out some of our other self-guided audio tours across the country on your future travels — ActionTourGuide.com. Thanks again!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour
Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour

star-443

3 to 5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$10.00

star-3.53

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$11.99

star-4.561

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$70.00

star-53

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00

star-511

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$1,050.00

star-52

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$1,050.00

star-52

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$1,050.00

Explore Similar Things to Do