Recent Searches
Clear

Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands

star-4.5269 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Panama City, Panama
Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon14 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Head to the Caribbean coast of Panama on a day trip from Panama City to the San Blas Islands. Traveling by boat check out a shipwreck and natural swimming pool, and enjoy the tropical scenery and atmosphere. Your tour includes breakfast, lunch, activities, and round-trip transport with hotel pickup and drop-off.
  • San Blas Islands day trip from Panama City
  • Go exploring with provided kayaks and snorkeling masks
  • Visit several islands in one day
  • Round-trip transport by minivan and boat included
Saved to wishlist!
Snorkel MASK
Shared transportation from Panama City – Port – Panama City for 6 passengers
Shared Boat transportation from Port – Islands– Port
Tours to Perro Grande, Perro Chico, Diablo and Natural Swimming pool (4 Islands)
Welcome Snack (fruits)
Traditional Lunch (Fresh fish with salad and rice)
1 Drink (Beer, Bottle wáter or soda)
Kayaks & Paddel board
Umbrellas, chairs and towels under request and upton to availability.
English Speaking Local Guide
Entrance and port fees (25USD per person)
Infant spot in the car $50USD both ways, or can travel in adult laps for free.
Pick in Dreams or Westin Playa Bonita $10USD pp. both ways.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

5:00 AM

Hotel pickups commence prior to this time, you must contact the local service provider to verify your exact pickup time.

We pick up in all hotels in Panama city. Just leave us a note with your hotel in Panama city if you dont see your hotel. Its not needed to call to confirm. We need also your room number once you make check in. Hotels in Playa Bonita has additional cost of 10USD per people to be paid to the driver in cash. Other hotels outside Panama city, please contact us to know the additional fee, we dont pick up in hotels in Playa Blanca, or others hotels more than 30min far from Panama city.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Departure time is at 5:20am in the reception of your hotel. Any delay will have an additional charge, or may imply not to go to SanBlas.
  • You are allowed to bring additional beverages.
  • Check out from the island is at 3:30pm you should be back in Panama between 6-7pm.
  • PLEASE DO NOT FORGET TO BRING YOUR ORGINAL PASSPORT. WITH OUT IT, YOU WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO ENTER TO SAN BLAS.
  • Please notice San Blas is an Indian protected zone. All the services are basic and rustic, only kuna people are in charge of all tourist’s services such as food, ground and water transportation, lodging, etc, we work with them to support the local economy. Please take this into consideration, the services are not as in the city, the waiting time can be long, and kunas are more informal. We have provided hospitality train to them, but they are still working on it, their culture is different, they are never in a rush, this is part of the adventure to San Blas. Food is basic such as fresh fried fish with salad and rice.
  • The vehicle is 4x4 for 6 passengers plus the driver. Pick up time is between 5:20am to 6:00am depending on the route, you can be first ones of last ones. Please be ready at 5:00AM to avoid any delays to other passengers. No Show – or Mayor delays will incur in a penalty – cost of reservation fee. In case you will be pick up in Costa del este or near to the airport, pick up time is between 5:45 and 6:00am
  • Day tour return is at 3:30PM. You will arrive in Panama City between 6:30PM and 7:00PM.
  • We recommend you bring your personal hygiene items, towels, sunscreen, mosquito repellent. You can bring a cooler with your own drinks, potable water, snacks and beverages (fruit juice or alcohol) you can by on site or bring it yourself.
  • The driver will make a stop in a super market where you can buy a disposable cooler, ice etc.
  • In San Blas Islands there are no ATMs, only cash in received. You can buy drinks there, snacks, souvenirs etc.“+Movil” and “Digicel” are the cell phone companies which works in San Blas Islands.
  • There is no power electricity in the huts, only light.
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transport time is 2.5 hours way in and 2.5 back. Then 40 minutes to the island in boat. Real time in Islands is around 5 hours.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Panama San Blas Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Take extra clothes to change, you will very likely get wet on the boat." See review
  • "Bring some extra water and snacks, you will need it before lunch." See review
  • "Do bring your own snacks as lunch takes a while, the locals are on their own time!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
269 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 269 reviews
star-5
A must for Active families
Rex_R
, Jun 2022
The entire experience was incredible, ultimately the most enjoyable aspect of the trip is visiting each of the islands. The Water is exceptionally clear and the overall ambience and tranquility of each island made the long day worthwhile.
star-4
Great experience
Ezra_H
, Jun 2022
Had a really great time. The islands were beautiful and the water crystal clear. Only complaint was that the ride was super bumpy, and we were missing a seatbelt!
star-4
Good times
Adrian_H
, Jun 2022
Beautiful set of islands, the experience was a great one with a good tour guide and experience the only drawback and it’s a big one is the ride to the islands is really rough through the mountains due to the conditions and countless pot holes in the road.
star-5
San Blas! What a great experience.
Valerie_A
, May 2022
The tour was so much fun! I thoroughly enjoyed the excitement from my driver Crescencio who got everyone safely to the beautiful San Blas islands! It was about a 2 and 1/2 hour trip one way. We left about 5:30am or so in the morning. The weather did cooperate and rained a little when we arrived to the area where we would take the 45 minute boat ride to the beautiful islands where the water is gorgeous, beautiful, warm and welcoming. Best of all were the good people I met while here. Beautiful people! Loved it! Can’t wait until next visit. I enjoyed booking this tour through Viatour. It was easy! Thank you! Muy Contente!
star-5
Must do!
Amber_G
, May 2022
San Blas Islands is breathtaking! On the drive up San Blas Hill we saw multiple sloths and the guide kept a sharp eye searching for more. Very long, drive and day, but totally worth every second of it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Best Spring Break Ever
Rosa_G
, May 2022
Our tour was so great!!! Our Driver Toti was the best. We learn so much about the Gumas and about Panama. On-time and very friendly staff. The food was also really good.
star-5
An experience! Will be better if it rains for a short period.
Kiran_P
, May 2022
Definitely a rough ride to get there! That was the “worst” part - smoother roads would save a lot of time to get to the destination plus would give more time on the Island(s). The water the scenery better then any pictures that would it justice. Not commercialized at all. So relax for a good few hours get your tan and whatever else! Islands are small - if you are looking for “hotel” style environment for any amenities- this will not be for you. We had some get company and it made it even better. There are places you can stay overnight- natural as it can come. Also, the drivers we had spoke very limited English - would have been nice if they added some Historical perspective to the whole experience. Enjoyed our moment- hope you do too!
star-4
Fun, basic exploration somewhat long trip
Alyssa_B
, May 2022
Be prepared for a long bumpy ride and some real rustic toilets if that matters to you but the islands are fun. I came to snorkel and you can get near the surviving coral and a sunken ship to see plenty of beautiful life under water. Not a ton, but plenty. Just don’t do comparisons because this is its own experience. The ride back feels long but it’s fine. Bumpy but fine. Over 65 I wouldn’t do it. It isn’t for high maintenance folks either. I’m glad I did it. Be nimble enough to climb in and out of the boat.
star-5
Will do it again.
Millicent_R
, May 2022
Calming waters and scuba diving. Lunch was perfect and the personnel was caring. Drivers to and from the island we’re wonderful. Will book a night on the island.
star-1
Per Viator, our issues were part of “an experience to see how the locals live”…
Elizabeth_K
, May 2022
This tour is way too expensive considering the fact that this tour was falsely advertised and the other issues that came with it. There were additional traveling fees on top of the $25 mentioned, so this trip is actually closer to $190 per person. First off, we were picked up 20 minutes late; we were in the backseat of an SUV (not a minivan like advertised) where the floor was raised so our knees were to our chest during the whole 3+ hour ride there that included the infamous bumpy road (about 2 hours of this bumpy road alone). Majority of this trip is traveling and picking up/dropping off people; we were picked up at 5:40am and didn’t get to the first island until 10:30am and left the last island around 2:45pm and got home around 7:00pm. The tour did not include snorkel gear, kayaks, and paddle boards (like advertised). The driver who picked us up, the tour guide, and the driver that dropped us off are all three different people that do not speak English very well so it was hard to communicate (not like advertised) and we didn’t really get that tour experience from the guide(s). With all of these issues, we requested a partial refund at the, and we were denied with the statement that this was all “part of an experience to see how the locals live”…this was very disappointing considering the fact that we have used Viator many times including another Panama tour that went really well. This was by far the worst tour experience we have ever had so far. One star for the water in the islands being so clear and feeling nice.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for sharing your experience. When we received your refund request it was for 100% and reason was not having a English spoken guide. For this reason we cannot provide refund because as we explain in our website we only work with local people and their English is basic, our guide Naidi is very friendly. Now you are also mentioning kayaks, snorkel were not provided, and this is a different story to the refund request. Can you confirm which day did you travel? I have pictures everyday of all the clients in the islands with kayaks, umbrellas and chairs. Not one day in May has missed the picture, so it is strange but we can dig in to understand what happened. For the rest it is true, waiting time is from 520 to 540am as we explain in our description. It is a shared tour with other people, not private. We never mentioned it is a minivan, it is a 4x4 big for 6 passengers plus the driver. There is a more expensive package for private car. The prices we have are fair, the islands are 2.5 hours from Panama city, crossing the jungle, food and drink is provided, visit to 3 islands and natural swimming pool, total 5 hours in the islands. Plus all the activities we have for our clients with snorkel, kayaks, welcome fruits, towels that no other operator gives. We are a a social responsible tour operator and most of the money stay in local hands to pay the transport, food, boat, meals etc and help their economy as most of the locals lives from the tourism and behind each person there are many families to support.
star-3
Sheer Hell
MRSPPENNELL_p
, May 2022
DONT DO IT Look. The islands are absolutely beautiful make no mistake BUT they are on the Caribbean coast and so you have to travel across the rainforest from Panama City. Now they do warn you of a bumpy road, but how bumpy they neglect to say. They use a team of 4WD's. A simple car would be broken 10 minutes into the journey It was sheer hell And a very long way I was stuffed into the car with no leg room and was battered about for over an hour constantly with no respite. Do not attempt this if you are my age 63 or over
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks! Sorry for this trouble. When people let us know their age or conditions in advance we can assign you to travel in the first row or second row of the car.
star-5
Beautiful islands and countryside!
Denzel_Q
, May 2022
Our tour guides were great. This tour lasts all day. Bring water with you, a towel, sunscreen, a change of clothes and camera. The ride from our hotel to the boat is about 3.5 hours or more. Once you enter the park you have to go through the San Blas hills and it's a very bumpy ride full of pot holes. That part takes 1-2 hours depending on how many people are in front of you. When you board the boats you will have docks that aren't the greatest and take some clinging and climbing. The guides on the boat speak good English and are very friendly. It's cool to see the indigenous people still living the way their ancestors did centuries ago. There are 3 islands and a natural pool you will visit and swim in. They have kayaks, goggles and snorkeling masks for you to use. The last island is the most beautiful one and that is when you get lunch. You will be there for 2 hours. Lunch options are whole fried fish with the head still on, or fried chicken breast. Sides are rice or fried plantains and a salad. You have the option of bottled water, coke, or Balboa beer. Great time and beautiful views. The water is not very deep except for the last island. There is a large portion there that is less than 4 feet but it gets pretty deep not far from shore. The natural pool is about 3-3.5 feet deep and calm waters. The other islands have swimming areas that are about 2-4 feet deep as well. Be on the lookout for fish swimming next to you! It was a great time!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
San Blas, Panama an unspoiled paradise.
Carlos_A
, Apr 2022
Great destination, friendly guides, excellent transportation, beautiful destination. Don’t think about it, book it, bring cold refreshments and your best friends!
star-4
Guna Yala (San Blas)
jihad_a
, Apr 2022
The tour was absolutely amazing. The driver picked us up on time at the hotel and dropped us off on time at the meeting spot where the boats were. Each island was unique in itself and different from the other islands I did like the islands with the sand volleyball courts more because I coach volleyball so it was kind of like my home away from home. Everybody on the tour was amazing and the customer service was great. One thing I will say is that the food was not that good because this fish wasn’t hot and that’s the ONLY reason for me not giving this tour 5 Stars. I would advise you bring a small cooler with maybe some sandwiches and chips although your lunch will be included in the price it’s good to have a little extra just in case you’re not interested in eating the lunch provided. Snorkeling at the sunken ship was definitely some thing I can check off of my bucket list. When you do this tour you will be amazed at the colorful fish that you can see down there. I thought this review would allow me to post pictures but @pik_che_resk on Instagram if you want to see pictures and video of the tour prior to booking. It’s 100% worth the money though. I loved it and met a lot of really nice people out there. I’d come back in a heartbeat!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Very nice, but too...
Fabio_Z
, Apr 2022
Very nice, but too expensive for a day trip - 180 USD (155 usd from viator plus 25 for port fees is a bit too much)
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Long day, but it's an experience
edkp58
, Apr 2022
My driver Chris was a speed demon who played chicken the entire time. That seemed to be a common theme for drivers headed to San Blas. We were able to stop for snacks and a restroom break before the bumpy road. Most reviews say it's really bad, but it wasn't horrible in my opinion. I grew up around potholes though. When we arrived at the pier area it was super muddy from rain; be sure to take water shoes, slides, or some other shoes that you don't mind getting dirty. It costs $0.25 to use the restroom here. Take a quick dry bag and/or bring a trash bag to wrap your things in. It rained super hard while we were waiting. Some of the boats turned back due to the storm, which delayed things a bit. The rain was helpful; it wasn't too hot/humid during our tour and there weren't any mosquitos out on the islands. We had 4 stops- 3 islands and the natural pool. My favorite island was Perro Chico. It was nice for swimming and snorkeling the shipwreck. I thought the natural pool was cool, being in the middle of the ocean. The first island we stopped at, it seemed like you had to go out quite a ways to swim. The second was small and grassy; personally, I didn't like that. We spent an hour on each island and about 20 minutes at the natural pool. It was not fun getting in and out of the boats. I remember seeing a review saying that staff didn't help. I considered not going because of that. On my boat, staff and tourists were more than willing to assist people, but I was able to manage. They gave us fruit on the first island for breakfast and we had lunch on Perro Chico, which was the last stop on our tour. I chose fish and rice. Unfortunately, the fish was super dry. It was a whole fish (you know, head still on and had bones), if you're not into that, choose something else. The rice was good; it was plain white rice, but it wasn't dry. I don't know if other tourists who chose chicken preferred that, but in the moment, I wished I had selected it. Some of the other reviews mentioned how they didn't have chairs or staff didn't translate. Luckily, I didn't have those issues. I asked for a chair at the first island and they brought it right up to the water for me and asked if I needed a towel. They mostly spoke Spanish and didn't always translate automatically, but when I wanted the translation, I asked and it was provided. I tried uploading pics with my review, but kept getting errors from the site. :-(
star-2
Terrible experience to a beautiful island
Senora_H
, Apr 2022
I booked this trip for 15 of my friends and the start of the trip was absolutely terrible. On our way to the islands the car I was in completely broke down and wiggled off the road after speeding on a highway. The axel broke and some men came to help fix the issue enough for us to drive to the mechanic. When we arrived at the “mechanic shop” it was closed and the same men who helped earlier proceeded to help again and this time use some wire. Already knowing we had a really bumpy ride ahead of us I called the owner to request a new car as it now felt unsafe. As customers and a part of a big group it was also completely unfair for us to sit around while they fixed the car. Bad customer service and nobody spoke English. After a hour or so they “fixed” the car with the wire and screw and sent us on our merry way when we then discovered an ants and roaches infestation in the back of the car which now made the ride extremely uncomfortable especially since it was now downpour raining and we couldn’t get out the car. A complete nightmare! Our whole car had to keep our feet up the remainder of the ride in a already tight space since they put 6 of us in one car. I think the visit to San Blas Islands is worth the trip(the 2nd island can be skipped), just not with this group. They need to invest in better transportation for their customers before doing another tour.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry with this experience you had, and you will be compensated for this. We are on our way to add new members on our car float, since we had higher demand than expected during high season in April. All car/ drivers needs to be approved by local authorities and it takes around 2 months for approval, in the meantime we had 8 cars for our clients everyday, but one of our cars needed to go to maintenance as safety for our clients is first, and needed to use a car from the approved pull ones. It was a punctual case, and we will make sure any of our clients had to pass for this experience again, more on the contrary you will be able to enjoy new cars :) with our best drivers! If you check our comments our drivers are the best, they are local people who loves to talk about their culture and Panama nature, they will show you sloths and monkey in the way in, and we dont want to this sole incident affect the work and reputation that they have created during the 5 years we have in service! Thanks!
star-2
Do not book this tour
Bella_P
, Apr 2022
First off the islands were beautiful and the Guna people were nice and very welcoming. The local guide was friendly and gave us a lot of info on his people. Now.. getting there was a complete nightmare. As soon as we got on the road, the axel broke on the back right tire. The driver semi fixed it enough to take it to the mechanic. The mechanic said it was just a screw. We didn't feel comfortable or safe taking the same truck as we had seen in past reviews that the road was kind of bumpy (which is an understatement). We talked to the tour operator and they refused to give us a new truck saying it wasn't a big deal.. it was just a screw that got loose. We called the booking agency and they said they couldn't do anything about it either. So we had no choice but to get back in the truck and pray it didn't break back down. They promised to get us a new truck on the trip coming back. Which they did. Luckily we had no mechanical issues during our way back. Another thing. The truck itself was disgusting. They do not clean it after every use. There were roaches and ants right by my feet. Everyone had their feet up in the car after that. It was a very uncomfortable ride there. I could go on.. but point is. Use a different agency to get there. Do not book this tour!! P.s. there was no snorkeling gear or kayaks provided in this tour either.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry with this experience you had, and you will be compensated for this. We are on our way to add new members on our car float, since we had higher demand than expected during high season in April. All car/ drivers needs to be approved by local authorities and it takes around 2 months for approval, in the meantime we had 8 cars for our clients everyday, but one of our cars needed to go to maintenance as safety for our clients is first, and needed to use a car from the approved pull ones. It was a punctual case, and we will make sure any of our clients had to pass for this experience again, more on the contrary you will be able to enjoy new cars :) with our best drivers! If you check our comments our drivers are the best, they are local people who loves to talk about their culture and Panama nature, they will show you sloths and monkey in the way in, and we dont want to this sole incident affect the work and reputation that they have created during the 5 years we have in service! Thanks!
star-5
Amazing experience
Michael_G
, Apr 2022
It was such an amazing experience. I enjoyed it throughly. I was alone but I made so many new friends along the way. The tour guide was super friendly and supportive as well. I would definitely recommend doing this. Thank you again.
star-3
Ok but not great
Robert_M
, Apr 2022
Nice to check it off my list but could be a lot better for the price. A lot of waiting around. Second island was a complete waste of time. Rather spent the extra two at the two other islands or skip. Driver got a flat on the way back. A lot of potholes. But he wasnt paying attention.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands
Day Tour in San Blas Islands All Included Visiting 4 Islands

star-4.5269

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

star-4.57

13 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$455.00

star-32

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$155.00

star-4.548

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00

star-41

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$256.09

star-4.526

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$169.00

star-42

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$234.30

star-00

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$169.00 $152.10
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations