Recent Searches
Clear

Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana

star-4.5812 Reviews
|
Punta Cana, Caribbean
Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 to 10 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Explore the oldest city in the Americas on this walking tour of Santo Domingo. During this full-day excursion from Punta Cana, follow your local guide to view some 5th century colonial monuments, Las Damas Street and Diego Columbus Alcazar, the first cathedral built in the new world. Stop by the National Presidential Palace, get fantastic views of downtown and watch a 4D movie about the history of the city. Lunch at a traditional Dominican restaurant and round-trip transportation from Punta Cana hotels are included.
  • Explore Santo Domingo with a local guide
  • Step back in time on a history tour
  • All entrance fees included
  • Eat a tasty lunch at a typical Dominican restaurant
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Air-conditioned vehicle
Professional guide
Bottled water
Lunch
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Exact pick up time will be sent by email

Departure Time

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
English Tour Guide
1/1/2020 - 6/18/2022
Tuesday:06:30 AM - 07:30 AM
Wednesday:06:00 AM - 07:00 AM
Thursday:06:30 AM - 07:30 AM
Friday:06:00 AM - 07:00 AM
Saturday:06:30 AM - 07:30 AM
German Tour Guide
1/1/2020 - 5/21/2022
Tuesday:06:30 AM - 07:30 AM
Spanish Tour Guide
1/1/2020 - 7/16/2022
Tuesday:06:30 AM - 07:30 AM
Wednesday:06:00 AM - 07:00 AM
Thursday:06:30 AM - 07:30 AM
Friday:06:00 AM - 07:00 AM
Saturday:06:30 AM - 07:30 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Women must have shoulders and knees covered to enter the cathedral
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Important: Due Covid the entree to the museums are closed. We do a panoramic visit
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Runners Adventures

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
812 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 812 reviews
star-4
Good one!
Sofia_S
, Aug 2021
Monchy was so funny and kind...maybe the lunch was not so exciting but ok...totally a good experience
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Was good but the tourist guide...
DOLORES_S
, Jul 2021
It was awesome to see the old city ans the Cathedral was great. I didn't like the tourist guide took so much time to translate in 3 languages, he took us for shopping where he wanted and if we were not in a historical spot everything looked like a rush. The driver was excellent and the food was in a neat and nice place.
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Learned a lot
Sabrina_B
, Jul 2021
Our tour guide Dario was by far one of the best guides I have had. He was so passionate and knowledgeable of the city and country. He was friendly and took care of everyone. Our bus driver Rene was also great!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great food and very informative
Cory_L
, Jun 2021
Great day trip, guide was very informative, the place we went for lunch was amazing and the food was Excellent and delicious
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Experience
Michael_D
, Jun 2021
Absolutely, positively fantastic! Our guide was wonderful and gave descriptions in Spanish, English, and German. The bus was very comfortable.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
No experience, unfortunately
Alexey
, Jan 2021
Excursion was cancelled w/o notification (no calls, mails). Some one came to inform us at pick up time (7:10 am).
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
He are truly sorry for this inconvenience. Due new covid restrictions announced the day before by the governament. We could't operate this tour. We send our bus and staff to inform clients and offer other options. Hope on your next trip you can enjoy the city.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Santo Domingo Tour
rkiran2017
, Jan 2020
we thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Tour guide communicated well in both languages and we felt engaged in all activities. Unfortunately, we missed some of the fine points over looking the ocean which was mostly due to time strained.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Nice day trip with good service
SSK134
, Nov 2019
Very good trip. English speaking guide. Only down side is the bus seat leg space was too cramped up and the bus transfer was late in the morning with too many stops. Rest of the trip was great.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Half the itinerary was "skipped"
Nate M
, Oct 2019
I'll start by saying it's not neecssarily the fault of the tour guide nor the driver themselves; they were simply doing their job. Our biggest peeve from this tour was communication, that there was no transparency in the communication. The day of our tour, on the bus already on the way to Santo Domingo, we were told that because of the "election" that 4 of the attractions are "closed" and cannot be visited. This could have been communicated clearly, on Viator or on any of their listing to be the case for this day, but none of it was there. So, we couldn't head back if we wanted to or get a refund on the spot, as the bus is already in motion on the highway. We didn't get to see: The Columbus Lighthouse, Royal Palace, Military Forstress, and Columbus Palace. Pretty much more than half of the promised itinerary. They also took us to the Memorial Museum of Dominican Resistance, where all the texts on the walls were in Spanish, so we relied heavily on our tour guide. Instead of explaining to us what each room is representing, he pretty much speed-walked through the entire museum "hmmm this is all very interesting" *keeps walking non-stop*. That was a waste of time. Because after that, we walked a long time in the hot sun to the bus to go back to Punta Cana. Another con was that they took us to a souvenir shop which was obviously a commission based shop, as everything in the store was absurdly overprices (USD7 for a shotglass lol). We asked to roam around ourselves, and the souvenir shop next door had more reasonable pricing. Some pros: good lunch, funny-ish tour guide, Nacho. All in all, would not take the tour again, but others may have different experience than we did. Luckily, because we booked via Viator, we got to request partial refund, as the price we paid definitely did not match the value we got out of the tour itself.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Nate, We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you have experienced during your tour. The government closed all museums last minute call without previous notice, thats the reason why the tour guide did not even know previously, this is something that never happened to us, and that was the reason why we immediately granted you the refund you requested, this was not Viator, it was us who did. This was something out of our hands completely and we hope we can make it up to you on a future occasion. Kind Regards, Runners Adventures team
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
It has been 40 years since my last...
payala1
, Mar 2018
It has been 40 years since my last visit and I was amazed and disappointed at the immense change the Capitol city had taken, traffic, garbage, dilapidated housing, slums, over-populated. However once we entered the old city and toured the various venues it was great!!.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana
Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana

star-4.5811

8 to 10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-437

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-00

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.00

star-45

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-00

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$70.00

star-00

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-423

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.00

star-42

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.62

Explore Similar Things to Do