Recent Searches
Clear

South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5110 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavík, Iceland
South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon14 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Experience the natural wonder of Jökulsárlón glacier and lagoon during this full day trip from Reykjavik. See black sand beaches, visit the charming village of Vik, stop by Skógafoss and Seljalandsfoss waterfalls, and take boat ride among the icebergs in Glacier Lagoon.
  • Full-day tour of Jökulsárlón and the Glacier Lagoon from Reykjavik
  • Boat tour among the icebergs on Glacier Lagoon
  • Learn about the formation of the glacier and the glacial lagoon
  • Visit the Seljalandsfoss waterfalls
Saved to wishlist!
Boat ride
Driver/guide
Food and drinks
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Þórunnartún 1 , Þórunnartún 1, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

7:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.Our pickup can take up to 30 minutes so please wait at your pickup location from the time written on your ticket. More locations we do offer pickup service from: - Subway at the former Oddsson Ho(s)tel, Hringbraut 119 - Burgerjoint (Hamborgarabullan), Geirsgata 1 - Gamli Gardur, Hringbraut 29 - BSI Bus Terminal, Vatnsmyrarvegur 10 (front / taxi side) Many accommodations in central Reykjavik are redirected to official "Tour Bus Stops" from which we also offer pickup: - Tour Bus Stop 1, Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstraeti (64.146316,-21.941491) - Tour Bus Stop 2, Tjörnin - The Pond, Maedragardur on Laekjargata (64.145763,-21.938547) - Tour Bus Stop 3, Lækjargata, Laekjargata 4 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 5, Harpa, Austurbakki 2 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 6, Safnahúsið - The Culture House, Hverfisgata 15 by Arnarholl (64.147454,-21.932894) - Tour Bus Stop 7, Traðarkot, Hverfisgata 20 (64.146706,-21.930425) - Tour Bus Stop 8, Hallgrímskirkja, by Eiriksgata (64.141548,-21.927973) - Tour Bus Stop 9, Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24 (64.143497,-21.916289) - Tour Bus Stop 10, Hlemmur, Laugavegur 105 (64.143155,-21.915414) - Tour Bus Stop 11, Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37 (64.142364,-21.917228) - Tour Bus Stop 13, Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120 (64.142658,-21.913866) Free pickup location: - Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 6 (64.144389,-21.910327)
Be ready for early morning departure. Climb into a comfortable tour vehicle and depart the city, bound for the south shore of Iceland and the Glacier Lagoon. 

Once you arrive, take a boat ride among the icebergs. Learn about the formation of the lagoon and, which branches from Breidamerkurjokull, an outlet glacier of the Vatnajokull glacier. 

Back on land, stop at two of the country's most impressive waterfalls on the way back to Reykjavik. Check out the 180-foot (60-meter) drop at Skógafoss and walk behind the falls at Seljalandsfoss. 
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Seljalandsfoss
Seljalandsfoss is a scenic waterfall which can also be walked behind.
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Glacier Lagoon
This is our main stop of the day. You will be boarding a boat to get as close as possible to the icebergs.
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Fellsfjara
At our stop at the Glacier Lagoon are you also able to visit Diamond Bach since it is right next to the lagoon.
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Reyniskirkja Church
On our stop in Vík will you be able to purchase some food and in bright conditions also see the most southern part of Iceland
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately (sturdy shoes and rain- and wind-proof outdoor clothing recommended)
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bustravel Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Seljalandsfoss is amazing but definitely bring a rain coat because you will get wet walking behind it." See review
  • "First of many bus tours It is a long tour but the scenery makes up for it Lots of photo opportunities" See review
  • "Plenty of stops, and the lagoon is so beautiful it’s a must see" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
110 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 110 reviews
star-4
Tour was excellent but van could have more keg space
AnnaMaria_A
, May 2022
All the sights were stunning and unique. The only suggestion my friends and I have is transportation/vehicle comfort. The small van had very little leg space even for short people like myself who is 4’11. The 14 hr. trip would have been comfortable.
star-1
Truffa
Cristina_A
, Apr 2022
a scam, we spent the day between buses and motorway restaurants, the soul of the tour was the boat ride we paid for and only during the tour did we know that it is only available in summer. as an alternative I asked to go to the ice cave as we paid the ticket for the boat tour and the driver said no that if we had any complaints contact the tour operator, which I did to get the ticket refund of the boat tour and continue to say after many emails with the payment in favor of viator attached that I did not book through them, which is not true, I did it right on their site. cheaters
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Cristina, Thank you for your feedback. We want to point out that we have informed you in advance that the boat tour is not yet operated by our partners because the lagoon is still too frozen to operate this safely. Safety is always first. Of course you have been refunded for the cancelled boat tour. The ice cave was unfortunately not an alternative option because the tour takes about 3 hours and is not available in the time we are at the lagoon. We hope you still enjoyed the tour even without the boat option.
star-1
Cancelled
Penny_P
, Feb 2022
We waited on the bus for 2 hours then the highways were closed due to weather accidents. We were told to work with the booking company for refunds and no alternatives were offered. People were asking for other options so we had a day to wander
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Dear Penny, Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately the weather conditions on your travel date were a lot worse then predicted and the authorities decided to keep the roads closed for safety reasons. We offered you to join the tour on a different date or to receive a full refund. We are extremely sorry we could not push through the tour as planned, but safety is of course first. We hope you still enjoyed your time in Iceland!
star-5
Great day to the glacier lagoon
Ying_X
, Dec 2021
The glacier lagoon is the highlight of my trip here in Iceland, we were lucky to have gone on the tour on a sunny day and the view was just incredible, the tour guide was very pleasant and gave us info for each location and some funny little stories, made the 14 hour tour very enjoyable!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Splendid Scenery
Meghan_L
, Nov 2021
An artist’s candy store. Sublime scenery at every turn! It’s a bit of a drive, so sit back, relax, and enjoy the wonders of our world!
star-5
What a great day!
Sarah_A
, Nov 2021
This was our second tour while in Iceland that we had booked with Bustravel Iceland and we were not left disappointed. Our guide for the day (Monica) couldn't do more for us, was extremely knowledgable and came to all the special 'view points' to take memorable photos for us. The tour is relatively long (about 14 hours) but there are plenty of stop offs to buy refreshments and use toilet facilities and we also got to see so much of the South Coast. Thankfully the weather was also very kind to us and the Glacier Lagoon and Diamond Beach have to be a 'must visit' on any trip. Thank you for such a good day!
star-5
The driver, HBO, was...
Paul_D
, Oct 2021
The driver, HBO, was absolutely brilliant. Really informative and helpful and during the journey educated us on Icelandic music by playing music from a few Icelandic artists. A great day out.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Our guide was very...
Sheryl_H
, Oct 2021
Our guide was very informative about Iceland and it's traditions. Diamond beach and the glaciers were very unique and beautiful.
star-5
Such a great tour! We got to see the 'Iceland Iceland'!
YickLin_C
, Oct 2021
Wow we seen a lot in this tour and it was just incredible. We are staying in Iceland for 5 days and have only scheduled one day for South Iceland and was worried that we couldn't see enough, but this trip is perfect for us. We seen all the 'icy side' of the country, so beautiful and we are blown away, once in a lifetime experience!
star-5
Best tour ever, do not miss it!
NANCY_E
, Oct 2021
We did the south coast and glacier lagoon tour on our first day, and were lucky enough to have good weather. Howser was our guide. He was friendly, entertaining and full of interesting stories on the long drive. Try to do the tour with him if you can, he was great. The views of the glaciers, waterfalls and black sand beach with ice chunks on it were all beautiful. But the best thing you can do is make sure to sign up for the boat ride into the iceburgs of the lagoon. It was spectacular scenery and you can't really get the same effect from shore. Great trip and some lasting memories of Iceland.
star-5
A Must Do in Reykjavic
Sylvia_L
, Oct 2021
Our guide and driver Hauser was hands down the best tour guide we have ever had all over the world. The tour was close to 15 hours and he tried to make the best of every minute for all of us. He is extremely knowledgeable in Icelandic and general history, culture, movies, books, and deliver all the info with such clarity and humor. This was the highlight of our 5 day trip and the best of the 6 tours we took. That’s saying a lot since we saw amazing northern lights with the bus tour too. Unforgettable day for my husband and me.
star-4
Great overall tour
Kathleen_K
, Oct 2021
We got to see so many great things. It makes for a long day, but worth it. Wish we ha d a bit more time in some of the stops but understand it is needed to stay on schedule and be able to see everything on the tour.
star-4
Good but some improvements would make this better
Jessika_P
, Sep 2021
This was a really fun experience and as I was staying in Reykjavik ot was a great way to see distance and places I wouldn’t have been able to reach on my own energy if I was hiring a car myself. I am really glad to have seen the Jokulsarlon glacier lagoon. However, things to note due to the nature of the group bus tour: Stops throughout the day were quite short and so if you are not bringing your own food, you will not have much chance to explore each location The bus had a toilet but it could only be used whilst stationary and the toilet on my bus needed to be significantly cleaner I thought especially due to Covid masks should have been mandatory on board and the bus should have been visibly cleaner. I had sanitary wipes so I was able to clean food stains from the food tray in front of me Our tour guide, Palli, was great and gave us loss of fun information and history on Iceland. We really lucked out with him. The pick up from bus stop #12 said 7am on this page but I was then noticed a day before that this is actually a window and the pick up time would be 7-7:30am Wear waterproof trousers and a waterproof jacket especially if you are going on the glacier boat tour Bring an iPod in case your tour guide isn’t feeling particularly chatty as it is about 10 hours of driving time in total across the day
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Jessika, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. The toilets in our bus are unfortunately only able to be used while standing still, this is due to the fact that we have a seatbelt law in Iceland and you are not allowed to walk in a driving vehicle legally. Currently masks are not mandatory in Iceland in sightseeing buses though we still recommend everyone to wear them. We strictly follow the laws given by our government in terms of Covid restrictions and are trying our best to keep everyone on board safe. Our guests as well as our employees. We are always trying our best to keep our buses as clean as possible and we are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the cleaning status of your bus, we will fix that immediately! Thank you again so much for all your input and we hope you are enjoying your time in Iceland :)
star-5
Amazing day
Paulina_P
, Sep 2021
Fantastic day. Although it was a 14 hour trip, the day went quickly. The scenery was great, the glacier lagoon and diamond beach were a fantastic experience. Our guide (from BusTravel Iceland )Matt was very knowledgeable and entertaining and the coach was very comfortable with recliner seats. We felt safe with Albert our excellent driver. I would definitely recommend this trip.
star-1
Guide was worthless.
Joe_P
, Sep 2021
The tour guide gave very little information at all. I'm not even talking about what we're driving through for hours I mean just saying when our next stop is, or his name, or pointing out things when we drive by. I'm not sure if the tour is designed for the guide to say nothing but that's what happened here.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Joe, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback! We would like to have some more information about this, could you send us an email with your booking number? We want all our customers to have a wonderful experience on our tours, so we would love to get in contact with you to solve this. Thank you so much in advance!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Gorgeous surroundings, but be aware
MAria_G
, Sep 2021
The beauty of island and places we visited were awesome. However, in spite of charging for pick up we have not been picked up in the hotel and have been asked to go to the bus stop at the time of pick up. It would be reasonable if someone in advance emailed directions for pick up place or answered our message about the pick up place. We would also appreciate if the guide provided at least some information about the places we visited. His total talking time during 14 hour tour was probably no more than 15 minutes. Disappointed!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Maria, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback. As mentioned online we offer pick up service from the official tour bus stops as well as certain hotels in central Reykjavik. This is due to traffic restrictions from the city. If a guest does not choose one of our available pick up locations we email our guests in advance to confirm the pick up location. Feel free to email us with your booking number so we can have a look into your case and get more information about your guide. We want all our customers to have a wonderful experience. Thank you very much in advance and we hope you enjoyed your time in Iceland!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent
Htel_M
, Sep 2021
Our driver was very friendly & sincere driver, I will recommend to others also, I am going to use aviator for my next vacation for Greece .
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Unforgettable day
Nina_S
, Sep 2021
I only had a very brief stopover in Iceland and this was an absolutely excellent way to spend a day — I feel like I got such a wealth of new impressions, and learned a ton too. Jökulsárlón is an incredible place to see (absolutely do the boat ride. We saw a seal too, sunbathing on an iceberg), as is the waterfall we visited along the way (there’s sort of a cave behind it and you can stand behind the waterfall — a bit of climbing over wet rocks involved, do bring solid shoes and waterproof clothes). It’s true that you spend a lot of time in the bus, but the views are mostly amazing, I actually really enjoyed this. Our friendly guide Palli shared interesting information not just about the immediate sights and surroundings but also some interesting background info about Iceland in general. He also knew when to stop talking and let us rest. Someone got lost at the first rest stop and the driver and guide did not rest until we successfully got that person back on board. We did recoup the lost time too by end of day (impressive); I suspect this is why the scenic stops and food breaks got a little bit shorter than I would have ideally liked, but I understand that scheduling must be tight on such a long drive. I’d absolutely recommend this tour.
star-4
Jökulsárlón is worth it
Jen
, Sep 2021
Please keep in mind that going to Jökulsárlón is quite far from Reykjavik. Hence majority part of the tour is mostly traveling. Due to this we were only able to stop at the Seljalandsfoss and only passed by the Skógafoss. Included also on this tour is the Reynisfjara however we were actually on the other side where you cannot see the basalt columns. Additionally during the time in Reynisfjara is also the time allotted for dinner that's why there won't be enough time to do both. Hence I still highly recommend to get a separate South Coast tour in order to enjoy the South Coast places more. This tour is much more concentrated on Jökulsárlón and the Diamond Beach which are both already awesome on their own. Lunch and dinner stops are sufficient. Of course if you are picky on food then better to pack your own as there are not much choices. Although the bus ride is long, reaching this place is really really worth it. I highly recommend on getting the boat tour as it was very informative and you will also get to see the glaciers up close.
star-5
Perfect one day tour
Viachaslau
, Sep 2021
Perfect your to see a lot of nice places - waterfall, glacier, lagoon and black sand beach. Be prepared that tour is 14 hours long. Comfortable bus. Nice people.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik
South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5110

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$179.90

star-4.5428

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$163.66

star-4.564

15 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$272.98

star-588

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00 $96.00

star-4.5210

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$154.90

star-5103

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$440.00

star-51174

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$108.00

star-586

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$519.00

star-5187

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$158.20

Explore Similar Things to Do