Recent Searches
Clear

Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

|
Reykjavík, Iceland
Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Discover the natural majesty of Iceland with the Reykjavik Super Saver, a combination of two popular tours at a discounted price. Realize your dreams of seeing wild whales during a 2.5- or 3.5-hour whale-watching tour and marvel at adorable puffins as you sail the rugged shores of Akurey island on a 1-hour puffin cruise. Enrich your knowledge of the majestic creatures while listening to commentary from a knowledgeable guide on each captivating cruise.
  • Reykjavik Super Saver that offers two incredible tours for a discounted price
  • Spot marine life, including harbor porpoises and humpback whales, on a whale-watching tour
  • Choose between a 3.5-hour whale-watching cruise, or a 2.5-hour high-speed boat version
  • Learn about some of Iceland’s most majestic native wildlife from expert guides on both tours
Saved to wishlist!
Free Wi-Fi on whale-watching cruise
Warm overalls on whale-watching cruise
Binoculars on the puffin cruise
NEW - Special Tours App (available in English, German, French, Spanish, and Chinese)
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel transfers (available to purchase separately)
Geirsgata 11 , Geirsgata 11, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

Special Tours Ticket Office

This activity will end right where it started.
Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik (1 Hour)Select a departure time to suit your schedule and then depart from your Reykjavík hotel (if pickup option selected). If you have not added the hotel pickup then you will meet us in Reykjavík's Old Harbour where you will board a comfortable boat destined for the idyllic island of Akurey, famed for its dense puffin population.

Find a comfortable seat on board and warm yourself with a soft, provided blanket while listening to illuminating narration that details the behavior and physiology of the puffins. 

As you approach the island, gaze out of the window and marvel at the agile birds as they dive into the water for fish. Use binoculars to get a closer look at the puffins and scour the sea for other bird species like Arctic terns, black guillemots and northern fulmars. 

Arrive at the rocky shores of Akurey and circle the island for more prime puffin vantage points. Then, make the serene journey back to land where your hotel drop off will be waiting (if option selected).'

Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik (2.5 or 3.5 Hours)Opt for a tour length and departure time to suit to your schedule and then embark on either a leisurely 3.5-hour cruise or an express 2.5-hour high-speed boat ride. Depart from your Reykjavik hotel (if option selected) and travel to the quaint Old Harbour to board your luxurious whale-watching vessel.

Keep your eyes open for common sightings of minke whales and humpback whales while your guide helps scan the open seas. While listening to illuminating natural commentary from your guide, scan the calm ocean for sightings of other wildlife species like white-beaked dolphins and porpoises. Keep your eyes open and your camera ready for common sightings of minke whales and humpback whales!

Revitalize with steaming beverages like hot chocolate and aromatic coffee throughout your cruise in the inside viewing area (at your own expense). After capturing countless photographs of majestic whales,relax during the journey by boat and coach to your Reykjavik hotel (if option selected).

In the unlikely event you don’t spot any whales in Faxaflói Bay, receive a complimentary ticket for another whale-watching cruise. 

Please note: You can choose to take the tours on the same day, or across separate days during your Iceland vacation.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Warm clothes recommended
  • Please note: You will need to reconfirm your cruise times with the supplier, refer to voucher for further details
  • Hotel pick up: Available to book directly with supplier (extra fees apply).
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Special Tours Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Shout-out to the whale-watching guide on the tour who was extremely knowledgeable and worked really hard to find and point out whale sightings!" See review
  • "The smaller boat to the island of puffins made it easier to get a little closer to view the birds but here again not quite close enough." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
73 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 73 reviews
star-4
Just a “so,so” experience
Sue_T
, Jul 2022
The speaker for the day wasn’t that great. Didn’t see much, really just an expensive boat ride. The boat it’s self was very nice.
star-5
Fun boat trip
Annmarie_R
, Jul 2022
The information provided about the whales, dolphins and puffins was very informative. We were very lucky that the seas were very calm and we saw two types of whales along with dolphins. It was a worthwhile trip
star-3
Show more respect for whales please.
Judith_A
, Jul 2022
We saw whales which was great but sadly the lack of regulations regarding how many boats and how close they can get really disturbed me. I come from a country where boats must cut engines near whales and must not go to close. These boats actually cruised along with the animals. More must be done to stop whaling and show more respect. Then whales will come up to the boats and show off. It is not this particular operator. The boat was great. Iceland must change its attitude. The puffin trip was terrific. Highly recommended.
star-4
Excellent whale watching, but a very small boat for too many people at the puffin tour
Thomas_H
, Aug 2021
The whale watching was actually a five star experience with some animals to be seen for quite a while and an informative guide. The puffin cruise, however, was disappointing because there were way too many people on the small boat. As a result, you couldn't really enjoy the short journey.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your review, and we apologize for the late reply! We're glad that you enjoyed your whale watching tour with us, but we're sorry to hear that the puffin express tour was not as enjoyable for you. We have a maximum number of passengers allowed on each boat and we never go over this number for safety reasons. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland! Kind regards, Special Tours Crew
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
It's worthwhile for the budget minded
Tricia_W
, Aug 2021
We saw a humpback whale! Very cool! The whale watching tour was just the right amount of time and the tour guide was knowledgeable. The puffin cruise was ok and kind of short. There were tons but we couldn't get very close to the puffin island so it was hard to see them unless they flew by. For the price it's still worthwhile.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your Whale Watching tour with us and we will pass the compliments along to your guides and crew. For both the puffins and the whales, it's ultimately up to the wildlife to decide how close we get to them. Sometimes we're able to see the puffins from very close, and other times it's easier to see them with the binoculars on board. This is part of work with wild animals, but we always do our best to get as close as possible while following the IceWhale code of conduct for wildlife encounters :) Thank you for sailing with Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland! Kind regards, Special Tours Crew
star-5
Whales & Puffins
Magaly_M
, Aug 2021
Our tour guide was enthusiastic and very informative. The sea was smooth and we saw 3 different types of whales. It was a great day!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your tours with us, and we will pass the compliments along to the guide and crew. Thank you for sailing with Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland! Kind regards, Special Tours Crew
star-4
More birds than whales!
robert_m
, Jul 2021
Never no what you see! Don’t expect jumping whales otherwise you’ll be disappointed! But the of seeing the fountains of air of a humpbag and their backs snd vins gliding through the water are exiting enough. The boat ride itself is an adventure on its own! Puffin tour in smaller boat is nice, good guide provided lots of info and you can see a lot of birds. Youre not allowed to acces the islands where they breed so you are bound to the boat.. but very nice trip!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your tours with us and we will pass the compliments along to the guides. Since we're working with wildlife we can never guarantee sightings, nor can we guarantee what behaviors the whales will exhibit when we do see them. That's part of the beauty of working with nature and wildlife - each tour is unique and every encounter special. You're also absolutely correct about the puffin islands, it's banned to go onto the islands because they are a protected breeding ground. Our boat allows us to get as close as possible while still following guidelines and respecting the bird life :) Thank you for sailing with us, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland! Kind regards, Special Tours Crew
star-5
Humpbacks, Minkes and Dolphins, Oh MY!
Sandra_R
, Jun 2021
I thought this was great. A nice easy day, relaxing on the water. We had 3 hour whale watching in the morning, and then came back for a 10 minute break and got on a different boat for the 1 hour puffin cruise. We were done in time for a late lunch, but if you were hungry, there were snacks for purchase on the whale watching boat. We were so fortunate to see humpback whales, Minke whales and dolphins!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your Whale Watching & Puffin Express tours with us. Humpbacks, minkes & dolphins are three of the four most common species that we see in the bay - it sounds like it was quite a successful tour! Thank you for sailing with Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in Iceland. Kind regards, Special Tours Crew
star-4
Puffins and Whales
Melissa_L
, Jun 2021
We had really rough seas on on the Whale Watching part. They told us this before leaving in case we wanted to cancel. The staff was very helpful handing out ginger candy and sick bags. We unfortunately did not see any whales but we did see lots of Puffins and other sea birds. If it had been high tide, we may have been able to get closer to the island where the Puffins breed. The Biologist was very informative and we learned many interesting things about the wildlife of Iceland.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your tours with us and will pass the compliments along to the guides. We always let passengers know the sea conditions ahead of time to allow anyone who is prone to sea sickness the chance to reschedule or cancel. We're glad that you were still able to sail out in this case and see the puffins. Thank you for your review, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland! Kind regards, Special Tours Crew
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Nice combination of two tours
Robert_C
, Jun 2021
We really wanted to see whales up close but were only able to see three or four in the distance. We did love the journey out to sea anyway. We were provided with wet suits which really kept us warm and enjoyed the adventure even though we didn’t get some up close viewing. The smaller boat to the island of puffins made it easier to get a little closer to view the birds but here again not quite close enough. There was no opportunity to see the birds up close and personal, just huge flocks of them flying around the island. We still enjoyed it though. It was a nice morning.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your Whale Watching & Puffin Express tours with us. We always do our best to get as close as possible to the wildlife that we encounter while following the guidelines and code of conduct. It is ultimately up to the animals to decide how close they want to be to our boats. Thank you for sailing with Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland! Kind regards, Special Tours Crew
star-4
Two in one sight seeing
melinda s
, Jul 2019
So this is two different tours. We got on a normal whale seeing tour boat. They were ok. We saw some puffins on the tour and initially were wondering why there was separate puffin tour. But the puffin tour was on a smaller boat that got very close to the island. We learned lots about the puffins and it was one of my 8 year old son’s favorite part of the trip
star-4
Really enjoyed this combo whale and...
Amanda F
, Jul 2018
Really enjoyed this combo whale and puffin tour. It was cool to see the mink whales and they try really hard to get the boat as close as possible and find as many whales as possible. Although cool to see, unfortunately my tour didn't get to see anything more than fins and tales. The puffin tour was nice following and getting to see Puffin Island. You didn't get to see any puffins up close though which I feel like would have been better. I would try the whale-watching tour again, but the puffin cruise is more of a cool to see once, but wouldn't go again. You also see plenty of puffins on the whale-watching tour if you want to grab a few pics there and save money on the puffin tour. Shout-out to the whale-watching guide on the tour who was extremely knowledgeable and worked really hard to find and point out whale sightings!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
We had a fun time. Only a small...
Sandra_N
, Jul 2018
We had a fun time. Only a small group on the puffin tour donut was nice, and then a bigger boat for the whales. Great guides on both, plus he guide emailed photos of the whales we saw that she had taken. Nice touch!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Our puffin tour guide, Iris, was...
Shayna_R
, Jul 2018
Our puffin tour guide, Iris, was extremely knowledgable about the birds and their habits. Who knew puffins could be so romantic? Same can be said for the whale tour. Anneka and the crew were very knowledgable and we were able to see a couple of minke whales. As amazing as the tours were, I really want to give a huge shoutout to Anneka, the captain and the crew for saving the day!! My friend and I were accidentally placed on a 3.5 hr tour when we only booked a 2.5 hr one. Usually you wouldn't think this was a problem, however, we had a flight out of Keflavik that afternoon and if we didn't find a way off the boat asap we were going to miss it. Most tours I have been on would have said sorry and there is nothing they could do, but not this crew! Without missing a beat, they decided to head back to shore as quickly as possible. We were able to catch our flight with 5 minutes to spare because of this outstanding team and their quick actions. I highly recommend them! They go the extra mile and even if you are having a stressful day like we were you will still enjoy the experience!
star-4
The whale watching tour was...
Diann D
, Nov 2017
The whale watching tour was great---saw lots of whales and dolphins. It was hard to see the puffins up close on the island, but the cruise was fine.
star-3
Just wasnt a whale watching day as...
Linda Smith
, Oct 2017
Just wasnt a whale watching day as we barely saw anything. Puffins are adorable but overall this Cruise was not worth the money. It was okay overall.
star-5
Great guide, fantastic trip, lots...
Rosalie_B
, Oct 2017
Great guide, fantastic trip, lots cheaper than the cruise version. The whales were mostly young males who clearly enjoyed the attention. One surfaced right next to our boat, but very safely! I got a great photo of one waving good-bye with his tail. Learned a lot about puffins, especially the Pacific tufted puffin whobears a great resemblance to an American presidential candidate.... I would definitely do this again.
star-3
Did not get great puffin viewings...
ST Oz
, Aug 2017
Did not get great puffin viewings, although the guide was nice enough to show us some pictures he had on his phone and other pictures. There is a nice tour, with binoculars provided. The waters were not choppy and the boat was nice and did not smell bad.
star-5
The puffin tour was awesome. The...
Laura P
, Aug 2017
The puffin tour was awesome. The guide was knowledgable and we saw a ton of puffins, even though it was late in the season. I highly recommend it!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Whale watching was a good time. Saw...
Karen M
, Aug 2017
Whale watching was a good time. Saw a number of whales which made it exciting. Puffin trip OK, but late in July, not many puffins.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik
Iceland Super Saver: Puffin Cruise plus Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik

star-473

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$115.74

star-417

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$166.84

star-4.5262

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$47.97

star-4.5147

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$78.20

star-4.538

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.98

star-4448

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$88.63

star-516

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$187.69

star-4.5136

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.595

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$139.04
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations