Recent Searches
Clear

Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavik, Iceland
Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 5 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

The winter months in Reykjavik are the perfect time to spot the Northern Lights. During this midnight adventure, taking place between September 1st and April 15th, journey to the perfect place to see the Aurora Borealis, and learn about this beautiful phenomenon from your guide. Your guide also captures the colorful night sky so you don't have to fuss around with your own camera or a professional photographer.
  • Search for the northern lights from September to April
  • Stay comfortable during your drive in a climate-controlled vehicle
  • Learn about the solar phenomenon from your guide
  • This Reykjavik midnight adventure includes hotel pickup and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
National Park fees
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Beverages
Coffee and/or Tea

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We pick-up at all Bus-stops down town Reykjavík as well as all hotels and guesthouses in the Capital area of Reykjavík, Hafnarfjörður, Garðabær, Álftanes, Kópavogur and ZipCode 270 Mosefellsbær.

General pick-up time is between 8:30pm and 9:00pm. At approximately 6pm on the evening of the tour we will email you to confirm your pick-up place and time.

Your pick-up place will depend on the location of your accommodation:

1. If you are staying within the Reykjavik City Restricted Area, we will pick you up at one of the designated bus stops. When you notify us of your accommodation, we will let you know which bus stop is the closest one to you.

2. If you are staying outside of the restricted area, we will pick you up at your accommodation.

In the email we will also give you a more accurate pick-up time (+/- 5 minutes) so that you won’t have to stay out in the cold for too long while waiting for the tour bus.

Departure Time

9:00 PM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Iceland everywhere tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
182 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 182 reviews
star-5
Truly a once in a lifetime experience
Santosh_M
, Jan 2022
Where to even begin. This tour was fantastic. Firstly, Siggi collected us from our hotel and began by giving us some insight into the history of Iceland and the Northern Lights. He gave us information as he drove, about how the Northern Lights form and what the different conditions need to be in order to see it. It isn't always a guarantee that one will be able to see the lights, but boy were we in for a treat. Siggi pulled up in a remote area away from any light pollution and from the heaving tour buses that we'd seen collect passengers before. Our small group of approx 20 people were treated to some of the most spectacular sights I've ever seen. The lights danced in the sky and Siggi took photos for us on his camera, and I took a bunch on my iPhone (attached). We stayed out for a couple of hours just soaking in the incredible views, and Siggi provided us with some timely hot chocolate out of the van to deal with the cold! Overall it was just a spectacular experience and I cannot recommend it enough. I think going on smaller tours with someone like Siggi makes perfect sense - you are away from the light pollution (for better photos) and the gigantic tour coaches of other operators so you get a more personal experience. Highly, highly recommend. I wish you luck on your journey to the lights!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are so happy you liked and enjoyed our tour, and information given on the tour, and your guide Siggi. May the photos bring back memories for time to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Intimate Exhilarating Expert
Laura_R
, Jan 2022
An incredible night! The Northern Lights were out in abundance. Our guide, Rouna (spelling? — apologies if wrong) was fantastic. He really knows his stuff about the Northern Lights and where to find them. And his passion shines through. The smaller group approach created a more intimate experience, and there is no need to worry about taking photos unless you want to as the tour guide has it all in hand with their professional camera.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoued our tour and your guide Rúnar (Ronnie), he is fantastic guide and pensioned for the Northern Lights May the photos bring back memories for time to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Worth every penny!
Ruth_F
, Jan 2022
One of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had. The tour guide was amazing and you could tell he really knew what he was talking about. I would recommend people go on this tour, I was not disappointed one bit.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed our tour and your driver guide. Our guides strive to do best by and inform our customer about the Northern Lights. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Highly recommendable!
Puitthero_D
, Jan 2022
The tour was marvelous! During the whole tour, we received background information on the Northern Lights which helped a lot in understanding this phenomenon. This was topped off with a very nice and funny tour guide. The weather was very cold and windy and we received a hot beverage because of this... Nice!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are happy to hear your enjoyed our tour and information given by your guide and that you were happy with your guide. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
5 stars experience
Denis_S
, Jan 2022
What à funny, Nice and interesting adventure ! Siggi is friendly, efficient, clear in its explainations... you learn à lot about Northern Lights, you have also the chance to travel in a small bus ... I strongly recommend this expérience !
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted you found our tour interesting and you learned something from us. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-3
Communication let down (perhaps not their fault)
Lucy_P
, Dec 2021
Unfortunately we had a super bad experience with this tour. The communication via the Viator app was a complete let down. The original date we had the tour it was cancelled however we were never informed and therefore prepared for the tour. We then called them to be told it was cancelled and that it was my fault that I hadn’t received communication. The next day we called to confirm to be sure and was told it would go ahead. An hour or so later we received comms from Viator it was cancelled ! We then called again and they confirmed the tour was on! When we finally did the tour the mini bus was extremely full and was told all other buses had broken down/ I imagine it was 2x days worth of customers on one bus. It was really too close for comfort in covid times and extremely uncomfortable. We didn’t see anything for 3 hours or so but finally managed to see them! The tour guide I think was a friend of a friend of the company (not legit) he said this was a favour for his friend, however he didn’t give up and he had some great facts and found them in the end albeit grumpy tired customers. He really did try hard but I think we were all past the point of listening. Pictures also came out fantastic but took 3 days for the Dropbox to be sent over. Hot chocolate was also provided. He did stop at over 4 places by the time we finally found them. I think we were collected at 8pm and returned 3am. It was EXTREMELY cold so please dress appropriately and bring blankets for extra. If you have an iPhone 12 or 13 the delayed shutter speed takes great photos on the phone too of the lights !! (Not with people)
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had super bad experience with our tour. It is true that the communication through Viator and Viator app had problems for 1-2 days. Messages that we sent did not get through to our customers when they were sent out, until 24 hours later and that is why you received cancelation email from the day before on our traveling day. Because of this our communication with our customers were bad and we are extremely sorry for that. When we found out about the communication problem we did try to reach out to all our customers. We never blamed it on our customers that they didn´t receive the email as we knew what caused the communication failure, we are sorry that you felt like it was your fault We are sorry that you felt uncomfortable on our bus. No bus broke down, in fact you are informed on your E-ticket that in case of cancelations and rescheduling we might need to fit more than 16 passengers on each bus. Minibus has 19 seats and that night we were traveling on two minibuses with 35 passengers. We offer to take photos for our customers free of charge and send them copy, as not everyone have the equipment to take there own photos. As we do that for free we use our free time to go through the photos and send them out, and therefore it can take few days. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere.
star-5
Amazing!
Lisa_F
, Dec 2021
Just amazing! Ziggy was awesome - went above and beyond and the hot chocolate was what was needed - definitely recommend 🤩
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are happy you enjoyed our tour. We strive to do best by our customers. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Excellent ! Book this tour
Mallikarjun_H
, Dec 2021
5/5 regardless of the fact that we were able to see the Northern lights , because the tour guide was friendly, enthusiastic and clearly explained all the various factors that influence the sightings. The night that we took this tour, the forecast by the Icelandic Met Dept ( 2 - Low ) was not great, so we were not expecting much . However, the tour operator had a different opinion about the forecast based on the sightings in Sweden that night and some real time data that he was collecting. We could see a dancing aurora with neon green colors visible to the eyes and cameras picking up the pink/red colors.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted you enjoyed our tour and your guide. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Superb!
Karen_H
, Dec 2021
Siggi is a superb guide and there is nothing he does not know about the Northern Lights! Drove us to several locations to ensure we had every opportunity to spot the lights (which we did). Brilliant trip. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted you enjoyed our tour and your guide and his wisdom regarding the Northern Lights. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
What a night! Ronnie, our...
Elea_Y
, Dec 2021
What a night! Ronnie, our guide, was great. He was very knowledgeable about the science behind the northern lights but also could help with camera settings! He is also a great photographer himself. We got very lucky and got to see these amazing dancing lights.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our tour and you were happy with your guide Ronnie. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík
Likely to Sell Out
Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík

star-5182

3 to 5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$72.63

star-4.5151

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.00 $78.30

star-3.5446

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-4.544

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$165.00

star-429

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.00

star-4.5208

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.74

star-538

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$194.63

star-418

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$99.68

Explore Similar Things to Do