Recent Searches
Clear
Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

star-3.523 Reviews
|
Santo Domingo, Caribbean
Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more
Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Don’t worry—here are some similar options

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Overview

Swap the city crowds for a relaxing day sailing the Caribbean Sea. This catamaran tour from Santo Domingo will take you to the beautiful Saona Island, where you can swim in crystal-clear waters, sunbathe on a white-sand beach, dance merengue, and enjoy a delicious buffet lunch in the shade of a palm tree.
  • Catamaran excursion to Saona Island: escape from the bustle of the city
  • Cruise to Saona Island where you can swim, dance and relax on the beach
  • Includes a delicious buffet lunch served on Saona Island
  • Hassle-free pickup from your Santo Domingo hotel
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Buffet lunch on the island
Water and pop
Sailing catamaran ride
Tropical ambient music
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

6:30 AM
We can arrange meeting points for almost anywhere in the area. If you do not see your hotel on the list and you are staying at Santo Domingo, Zona Colonial, Boca Chica o Juan Dolio or its surroundings, we can arrange a meeting point to pick you up. Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers
  • OPERATED BY dominican tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
23 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews
star-5
Boat Party
Shantelle_O
, Dec 2021
From beginning to end, you will dance, drink and swim. You can help yourself but to have a good time!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
The island is pretty, but...
Marisol_S
, Dec 2021
The island is pretty, but the tour was not that pretty. The transport was disorganized, since the moment we left the hotel, the bus driver did not know where to go and this caused a waste of time. We first took the catamaran to go to the island and when we arrived at Saona, there was no one proving instructions about the lunch nor the itinerary. We had to look for the "cap" to ask him about the lunch and once we were able to had lunch, the taste of it was really bad. The food was cold and the appearance was dirt. After a couple of minutes, we were told to take the fast boat to return and at this return, we stopped by the natural pool where we did not see any starfish. None. Finally, when we arrived at Bayahibe to take the bus to come back, we had to wait 30 minutes for it because they took us earlier than expected and the bus driver did not know about it so he was not awaiting for us.
star-3
Let’s have a Coor’s Light and drive the tour van
Cynthia_S
, Nov 2021
The Island is truly a piece of Heaven on Earth but our driver was another story. Our driver had messaged me that he would be picking us up at 7:00 am and at 7:10 he was still not there. This was just a little glitch but his driving was kind of scary until on the way back, he stopped at a gas station and bought a beer and chugged it. He then drove us back to our locations after he slammed that beer. He missed an exit and backed up on the highway and he stopped at a roadside stand to do another passenger could buy some cheese. I had an appointment for a Covid Test and his side stop lasted nearly 20 minutes. I will not use Viator as a booking site again
star-3
Too crowded
Madeline_M
, Nov 2021
Too many people jammed on catamaran. Coke and Sprite only- no diet or non carbonated drinks except for water from a large cooler. No alcoholic drinks either except for rum. No snorkel gear. No child size life jackets. No tour guide narrative to explain what we’re seeing or where we are.
star-1
Don’t waste your money
Bella_Q
, Aug 2021
So this tour is 10-12, but you’re spending most of the time traveling to the Island from Santo Domingo. It took about an hour to get to the boat then around 2 hours from there to the Island. They did play music to keep everyone entertained but the hassling of guest for tips at the end wasn’t cool for me. They only serviced Sprite and Coca-Cola in these tiny cups the whole two hours. When we got to the Island the tour guide said we would only be there 2 1/2 to 3 hours. Honestly that’s plenty of time since there’s nothing to do on the island but get in the water and take pictures. No activities what do ever. saying the buffet was mediocre is really giving them a compliment. Overall the island was beautiful but this wasn’t worth the 145 I paid for. If you’re staying at one of the resorts I think this trip is included in the price or you might be able to talk to one of the guides once you’re in Santo and barter a better price.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Find another company to see Saona
USATourist
, Aug 2021
The island is beautiful, but the tour is completely disorganized, overbooked and poor quality food and drinks.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We apologize for your experience, but you know that Saona Island is a heavenly place. where there is no modern thing like in the city. Daily we receive at the end of the Saona Island excursion, the thanks of all the participants, in the description of VIATOR it informs that it is a local buffet lunch (No VIP) and varied, alcoholic beverages are prohibited by the government. you can google it. you may have been demanding something that was not in the purchase contract that you made.
star-5
Amaze Balls!!! Awesome Sauce!!!
Orlando_S
, Jul 2021
The tour guides were awesome the Views were breathtaking the island was picturesque the whole experience was simply marvelous
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Do it… I know you want to
Dereck_R
, Jun 2021
This was probably one of the best tours I’ve ever done. It truly was an amazing time with amazing people. I would 100% recommend this to anyone, and might I add, I made new friends along the way. Solo traveler here!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Not Enough Time
Cheryl_B
, Jun 2021
Overall the trip was pretty good. I wish we had more time to spend on the island. We were held up because we waited for another group which took away a lot of time.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We apologize for your experience, but you know that Saona Island is a heavenly place. where there is no modern thing like in the city. The time it gives us on the island is regulated by the Dominican government, that there is already an hour that you must leave it already almost 2 hours before sunset
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great day!
Kahli_M
, Jun 2021
This excursion was awesome! The catamaran was sturdy, clean & not too crowded. The crew, who spoke multiple languages, were all really friendly & attentive. We danced on the boat & it was so much fun! Lunch was delicious & plentiful. The water was the most beautiful shades of blues I've ever seen! I would recommend this tour to anyone!
star-1
Horrible Customer Service and tour guide came early and left early
Dorothea_D
, May 2021
Tour guide came early and left before the time I was given. I tried numerous times to speak with tour operator but kept being directed to Viator. When I sent emails to Viator I received no response.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
The client is not honest when telling the truth. she informs the company that we never went. and she here she says we left her. our driver showed up at the westin hotel with more passengers for the excursion at 6:28 am. they waited for her for more than 25 minutes. We sent a msn to her and she never responded. at the hotel they informed us that this client was not registered there. In addition, hotels do not allow a transport to be for more than 15 minutes and we were for 25 minutes with more clients on board. Then she answers us almost late about the departure, when the driver is on his way with more clients to the excursion and she wanted him to come for her very late.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo
Saona Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

star-3.523

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$99.19

star-53

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$210.00

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$90.00

star-4.54

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

star-51

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.63

star-00

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$195.00

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$357.95
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations