Recent Searches
Clear

Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour

|
Savannah, United States
Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Travel back in time to Savannah’s Civil War era on this guided walking tour. Take a leisurely stroll through the Savannah Historic District, one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US. See the houses of the south’s most famous generals and visit the buildings from the war years of the 1860s. Listen as an expert guide speaks of the town’s storied past, its military strategies and the Confederate States’ place in the war. It’s a great tour for history and Civil War buffs alike.
  • Guided Civil War walking tour of Savannah
  • Explore the Savannah Historic District, one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US
  • Pass the houses of the South's most prominent generals
  • Learn about the Confederate states' role in the Civil War
  • Hear stories about Savannah's military strategies and civilian hardships
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
History of Savannah's role in the Civil War
Small Group experience
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
323 E Congress St , 323 E Congress St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA

In the middle of Warren Square, at the intersection of Congress St. and Habersham St.

14 W Macon St , 14 W Macon St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA

The tour ends at The Green-Meldrium home also known as Sherman's headquarters, located on the west side of Madison Square, at the intersection of Bull and Harris St.

This educational and entertaining walking tour of the Savannah Historic District begins at Warren Square, where you will meet your guide and group.

The Savannah Historic District was the center of colonial government in the 1700s. It was where the first reading of the Declaration of Independence took place in Georgia. Much of the town’s historically significant buildings are located here, in one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US.

For Savannah, the Civil War began in January of 1860, with the seizing of Fort Pulaski by Georgian troops. It preceded the attack on Fort Sumter in Charleston, often-recognized official start of the war, by three months.

Learn about Savannah’s role in the Civil War, the military strategies of the north and the south and how the locals dealt with the many hardships during this time of tribulation in the south. See the houses of the South’s most famous generals and marvel at the architecture that was present during the Civil War era.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Warren Square
"I beg to present you, as a Christmas gift, the city of Savannah....". So reads the opening lines of General Sherman's telegram to President Lincoln on December 22, 1864, after the occupation of Savannah. See Civil War era Savannah and the houses and buildings involved in the conflict. You'll hear about the strategies of both sides and learn how Savannahians endured the hardships of The War. This tour begins in Warren Square and ends at The Green-Meldrium house, which is the home where Sherman was invited to stay and penned his famous missive.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Comfortable shoes are recommended
  • Pets welcome
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Savannah Walks
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.0
star-4
180 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 180 reviews
star-1
It’s all about the guide
Jasyon_M
, Oct 2021
Beautiful city and weather, however the tour did not quiet meet basic expectations. Not a lot of personality with guide nor knowledge and fun facts or stories to help the walking tour seem worth it.. could have googled the site and walked it on our own.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
If you had stayed for the duration of the tour, you would have visited 19 points of Civil War interest including a confiscated map in possession of the Confederate Army but on some one else’s wall. But you chose to leave early. ☹️
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Recommend this to everyone interested in Savannah history!
Connie_L
, Oct 2021
Abe’s on Lincoln backstory! Wow! I enjoyed the details shared of the Cotton exchange, it’s facade and the cemetery.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your kind review! It was such a pleasure to share Savannah’s unique Civil War history with you!!
star-5
Civil War Tour
Sarah_K
, Sep 2021
We had a great and super informative tour of the Civil War and history of beautiful Savannah. Our guide was awesome. Unfortunately, I had a health issue and had to leave the tour about 30 mins early. Our guide was caring and compassionate. Would recommend!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are delighted you enjoyed the War tour and we hope you are recuperating and feeling better!!
star-1
Don't Waste your money!
Justin_O
, Sep 2021
Unfortunately, we didn't have a very knowledgeable tour guide. He seemed to be more focused on talking about himself growing up in Savannah, then leaving and traveling around the US. Also, was bashing the current president. I'm not a fan myself, but his personal political views have nothing to do with the Civil War. Also, was obsessed with talking about Dogs eyes falling out (super strange)? We were expecting civil war facts and he didn't seem to know many. The most disappointing part of the whole experience was him leaving us 3 miles from where we began the tour! We have NEVER been to Savannah before and had to figure out how to get back to where we started! What kind of tour doesn't end where it started? Totally ridiculous and would NOT recommend this tour and we personally feel the guide should be fired and we should get a full refund!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Justin Omlie, Your guide gave you the same War tour that we have given since 1995. Not the woke version, but the version people have come to expect for 25 years. Your guide did touch on yellow fever on the tour as it was a problem during the War. Humans and dogs both contracted the disease and he was describing the symptoms. He ended the tour at the Green Meldrium home. Sherman’s headquarters. 4 blocks from the meeting location. Not 3 miles. Finally, your guide responded about the current president when the guide was asked about Georgia being a red state. Perhaps you should stick to the trolley tours!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour.
Coralee_P
, Aug 2021
Brad was our tour guide. He did an excellent job. Gave us information that was relatively new to us( being Northerners). I am a retired teacher, so I appreciated the way he explained the history of Savannah. Very good details about the Civil War. I would highly recommend this tour. In fact, we had done a ghost tour, which we could have skipped as Brad gave us some of the same information. Loved this tour.
star-5
SCWT
David_K
, Jul 2021
Great guide! Very knowledgeable! Went above and beyond with more information. Definitely worth the time!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your War tour review!
star-2
So-So
Kristina_S
, Jul 2021
It was a little disappointing how little the Civil War was talked about. I think there was 2 references and the rest am was about the revolutionary war. It was extremely difficult to hear our tour guide at times and we were standing right in front of him. He was trying to project his voice, but it’s impossible with all the traffic noise:
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the review. For the past 25 years our Civil War tour has been our most popular tour. Each guide covers all of the sights pertinent to the Civil War and will add other interesting tidbits about Savannah’s rich history including the Revolutionary war as opportunity permits. In regard to hearing, each guide does their best to address the group in the quietest locations. Whether it be a Square or on a street corner. We always ask before a tour starts that any guest who fails to hear something a guide said to ask them to repeat it. That will be more than happy to do so!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fun history tour
Steven_L
, Jun 2021
Although not really a “civil war” tour, the walk was very good and the guide was excellent and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for the review. Your guide included all the Civil War history including a stop in Vic’s on the River to see the Yankee map. The Civil War tour has been a Travel Channel favorite for over 20 years!
star-5
Would recommend
Julie
, Jun 2021
I really enjoyed this tour! Lawlesse gave us a lot of interesting facts around town and I loved getting so much history.
star-2
Disappointed
Thomas_L
, Jun 2021
We were disappointed in our tour. We were asked to be there early enough to check in. The only one that wasn't on time was our guide who also showed up in a dirty t-shirt - not what we expected in Savannah (saw other guides more appropriately dressed). We received more information on our Hop-on Hop-off tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Your guide showed up properly dressed and we contacted you and told you he would be a couple minutes late due to a funeral at the Catholic Cemetery and the residual traffic. A company shirt with khaki shorts and tennis shoes is appropriate dress in Savannah in the summertime when the temp exceeds 105 degree heat index. Out of curiosity, I checked his t-shirt and it smelled like Tide and Snuggle fabric softener. A hop-on-hop off tour is a scripted tour where you look at the back of the guide’s head foe an hour and a half. That is not the case in this walking experience. It’s been a Travel Channel favorite for well over 20 years.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour
Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour

star-4180

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-5154

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.77

star-4.5276

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-5279

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.52

star-4.522

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.00

star-5602

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65

star-526

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$18.47

star-547

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-5820

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65

Explore Similar Things to Do