Recent Searches
Clear

Explore Savannah History Walking Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Savannah, United States
Explore Savannah History Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Discover the most famous landmarks and lesser known historic points-of-interest of Savannah on a 90-minute walking tour. With four possible start times during the high-season, you can easily begin the tour when it’s convenient for your busy sightseeing schedule. Follow your guide down the city’s oak lined streets and make stops at Colonial Park Cemetery, the Hanging Square, the spot where Forrest Gump enjoyed his box of chocolates, and much more.
  • Get an insider’s look at Savannah, Georgia
  • Orient yourself to the city for future exploring
  • See the city’s top landmarks in just 90 minutes
  • Visit a filming location use in “Forrest Gump”
Saved to wishlist!
Professional Local Guide
Gratuities

Departure Point

Savannah, GA 31401, USA

Meeting point is across the street from CVS in Wright Square, on the north side of the monument in the center of the square, facing CVS. Wright. Square does not have a physical address.

Return Details

2 W Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA

Tour ends at the Fountain in Forsyth Park.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Email confirmation at time of reservation
  • Comfortable Walking shoes (approximately 1 mile with benches along the way)
  • Consider the weather, bring an umbrella
  • Summertime can be hot & humid - bring a bottle of water
  • Tour operates rain or shine
  • In the event of severe weather, you will be provided the option to reschedule (no refunds unless we cancel the tour)
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Explore Savannah
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Explore Savannah History Walking Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Explore Savannah History Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Explore Savannah History Walking Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Explore Savannah History Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Explore Savannah History Walking Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Explore Savannah History Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Recommend this tour if you are in Savannah for a short visit." See review
  • "We would recommend this tour to anyone not familiar with the rich history of Savannah." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
545 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 545 reviews
star-5
Well worth it
Sherri_A
, Jan 2022
I gained better insight into Savannah’s history and visited sights I otherwise would not have known about.
star-5
Past, present and future of Savannah
Janice_Y
, Jan 2022
Rose explained the significance of the different aspects of each monument and vividly recounted the history associated with the city.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
It was a privilege having your on tour. Safe Travels!
star-5
Wonderful experience!!!...
Helen_H
, Dec 2021
Wonderful experience!!! Rose was very knowledgeable! It was a wonderful way to see some of the historical sites and find out some of the history of this wonderful city!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Helen, Thank you for taking a few minutes to give me a review. Safe Travels!
star-5
the walking tour with...
Lynn_E
, Dec 2021
the walking tour with Rose was very enjoyable. Rose is very friendly and has a wealth of knowledge about the history of Savannah.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Lynn, Thank you for taking time to give me a great review! I am blessed to have been able to show you the heart of Savannah and share history with you.
star-5
Rose is a gem! And super history buff!!!
LOUISE_P
, Nov 2021
Loved all of the history and learning about the bloody battle of Savannah, Ogelthorpe, the squares, the neighborhoods and more
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Louise, Thank you for taking a few minutes to give me a 5-star review. Yes, I do talk about a lot during the tour. The goal of all our guides is to make sure to get well rounded information on everything Savannah. And of course, we especially love answering any questions folks may have.
star-5
Savannah historical walking tour
Diane_S
, Nov 2021
Excellent tour - Bill was great! Squares are beautiful with lots of history! Enjoyed it!! Def recommend it
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Diane, We think Bill is pretty awesome too!
star-2
Disappointing
Mark_G
, Nov 2021
Tour was disappointing. Tour director was soft spoken and difficult to hear. Joker were stale and delivered like she had done a thousand times.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
I’m sorry you felt your tour was disappointing. We all try very hard to make sure each guest feels engaged and included in the tour. This is why we always try to ask your name and get a little info about your stay in Savannah, so can try to somewhat personalize the tour for you. Our tours are usually small enough that you shouldn’t have to strain to hear us. We always try to project our voice enough for everyone to comfortably hear us, yet not be so loud that we interfere with others around us who are perhaps on another tour. I do wish you had let your guide know you were having difficulty hearing them. Please call me directly the next time you are planning a trip to Savannah.
star-5
A Walk Through History
Rene_M
, Nov 2021
A very interesting presentation of Savannah’s centuries old history. Our tour guide was Crystal. Highly recommend you were comfortable shoes. You visit several of the city’s squares and their specific history. Our guide was very informative and conscientious that we had a tour to follow so she kept tabs of time and gave us directions to the next tour. She provided humor and knowledge to the tour. Highly recommend her.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
I agree, Crystal is awesome! She is a 4th generation Savannahian, so she has lots of stories and knows the city well and has plenty of humor! And yes, comfy shoes are essential — Savannah is a walking city and you will walk “a LOT” even when not on tour. Leave those cute heels at home, this is not a heel friendly city. Thank you for taking time to give Crystal a review, being the newest member of the team, she hasn’t gotten many reviews yet.
star-5
Great introduction to the history of Savannah
Regina_B
, Oct 2021
Crystal was an excellent tour guide. We have been to Savannah before but learned new and interesting things. Highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Regina, Amazingly, even us being tour guides and owning a tour company, are continuously learning new and interesting things ourselves. Crystal is a wealth of knowledge, and I’m happy you had a great tour with her. We hope you keep us in mind for another tour on your next visit. I’m sure we will have many other things to share with you as well. Our biggest problem is deciding what to talk about and which stories we ourselves enjoy and want to share on tour. We can only talk about so much during a 2-hour tour. This is why we enjoy questions along the way, it helps us customize the tour based on the group. Safe Travels! Thank you for taking a few minutes to give Crystal a review.
star-5
Great history tour
Heather_E
, Oct 2021
Rose was wonderful! Informative, funny, engaging. The 2 hours flew by. I love history and this tour didn’t disappoint.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Time flies for us also! I’m so happy you had a wonderful time.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Explore Savannah History Walking Tour
Explore Savannah History Walking Tour

star-5544

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-5230

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-4.5279

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-5176

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$39.00

star-530

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$18.47

star-519

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$34.00

star-5668

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-51128

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00

Explore Similar Things to Do