Recent Searches

St Thomas Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour

Badge of Excellence
Charlotte Amalie, U.S. Virgin Islands
St Thomas Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon2 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


This tour allows you to experience the culinary culture of St. Thomas through a walking tour. Indulge yourself with a Bushwacker, a must-try while visiting the island, and stop at eateries known for serving up must-try local foods. Savor local favorites like scrumptious rum cake, curried chicken, ripe plantain, and conch fritter. Visit historic sites such as the Hotel 1829 and a fort dating from the 1600s. All food tastings and beverages are included.
  • Culinary walking tour in St. Thomas
  • Stop by the best local spots for calaloo, fried pate, and seafood
  • Visit a 17th-century fort and Hotel 1829
  • Tastings and beverages included
Saved to wishlist!
Island Food Tasting. Tropical cool tea, calalloo soup, pate, sailfish quiche, Cruzan rum drink.
Fort Christian , Fort Christian, Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas 00802, USVI

We meet at the entrance to the fort (faces inland). Guide will be wearing a bright yellow shirt.

Veterans Drive , Veterans Dr, Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas 00802, USVI
If you’re the kind of visitor who likes to learn about the places you visit and live like the locals do, then this is the tour for you. Meet your group and guide at a central location and stroll down the historic Main Street, which dates from the 17th century, on the way to the Fort Christian Museum. Learn about this remarkable red building, once used as a police station and the governor's mansion. Stop to see where the Emancipation Proclamation was read in 1848, now called the Emancipation Garden. Learn that the Danes used the 99 Steps to navigate St. Thomas' hills.

Stop by several local restaurants serving local delicacies such as calaloo, fried pate, and local seafood. Your food tastings will be accompanied by the island's local Bushwacker, a frozen drink made from chocolate, coconut, and rum. 

After walking the historical streets and having tasted many of the islands delightful cuisine, you'll end this tour with a deeper connection and appreciation for St.Thomas.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please arrive at least 10-15 minutes prior to the start of the tour (there may be a 5-minute grace period)
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Kids under 3 are free but don’t receive tastings
  • Please advise of food allergies in advance
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY St Thomas Food Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during St Thomas Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by St Thomas Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour.
What is the social distancing policy during St Thomas Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by St Thomas Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during St Thomas Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by St Thomas Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "My advice to anyone going on this tour - do not have breakfast before going!!" See review


152 Reviews
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 152 reviews
Excellent, well worth the money
, Nov 2021
Guide was excellent. Food was excellent. The history was the best part. She gave an honest representation of the islands past. Even the dark part that is sometimes is not pleasant. I appreciated that. It gives perspective as to what goes on currently on the island.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Jane is a wonderful guide who loves the history as much as the food. We are so glad you enjoyed. Gerard
Enjoyed every minute!
, Nov 2021
We came back for our second tour. We had friends come to St Thomas for the first time and this tour is a wonderful way to introduce friends to the beautiful historical St Thomas! Jane was a perfect guide and is very knowledgeable!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thanks! Jane knows the island so well and presents it with enthusiasm and fun. Gerard
Tasty and informative tour
, Nov 2021
Jane was awesome - her love of the island and culture is evident / easy to be with . Great food choices . Was a wonderful afternoon !
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Jane has lived here for quite some time! She is the perfect person to show us why the island of St. Thomas is one of the world's best. Gerard
Fun and educational
, Oct 2021
Very knowledgeable and pleasant guide. The food was certainly interesting…perhaps not all to our liking but you can’t expect that. The best plantains I’ve ever hard at Char ?s restaurant!!!!!! Lots of interesting facts about the island!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Glad you enjoyed! Shama's made the plantains and they are consistently wonderful. St. Thomas is a very interesting place. Gerard
Highly Recommend to all!
, Oct 2021
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and full of fascinating historical tidbits. The food was amazing! We thought it would only be very small sample cups but we were pleasantly surprised by the portions! Highly recommend!!!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hey, thanks! We take enjoyment and pride ourselves on presenting the fascinating facts in a fun way. Our restaurant partners do a super job with the great local foods they serve... more like share with out guests. Gerard
Educational and fun !
, Oct 2021
Great tour and history lesson ! If you want a relaxing and educational break d this one ! You like Gladys and ft Christian
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
The history side of things often gets overlooked. It is an important part of what makes St. Thomas such a great visit! Glad you had fun. Gerard
Gerard was great and...
, Sep 2021
Gerard was great and knowledgeable on the history of the island. Go hungry! Lots of yummy food tastings too!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed the tour. So much has happened here to form this amazing culture.... including the terrific food. Gerard
Decent tour.
, Sep 2021
The guide was late.the other ppl in the tour was late. The food was good,the guide was nice,I enjoyed the downtown area.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Sorry about the tardiness. We understand when our vacationing guests loose track of time but our guides will have to work on that. Glad you enjoyed the rest! Gerard
, Sep 2021
My sister and I were so excited to experience this tour on our vacation we talked about it all week just to end up being stood up by the tour guide. We paid a taxi to get there and sat outside for a half and hour. After calling the tour company a few times we eventually got through and was told the tour was cancelled and rescheduled to an earlier time. None of this information was obviously relayed to me. Thankfully the tour guide refunded me my cab fare but I’m now waiting for the full refund of the tour.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
As the tour operator we too were disappointed. We immediately contacted Viator, with whom the tour was booked and reportedly rescheduled. We have no record of the rescheduling and have requested an explanation from Viator. (When a tour is rescheduled, we get an email. So far we cannot find one.) We immediately reimbursed the guest for their round trip cab fare and await response from Viator. If this is our mistake, we apologize and will reimburse immediately.We appreciate that the most important thing is the good use of your vacation time. Gerard Sperry
Not worth it!
, Sep 2021
We didn’t experience two shops tasting as they were closed. The guide should have prepared for alternate locations or used stricter time management between venues. We sat, without eating (ate and begin to look around waiting) way to long at the two spots we did visited resulting in us missing other paid experiences. At this point, the guide left the restaurant and came back with purchase goods from some where. Then she saw someone she knew at the last stop and commenced to having a conversation with said person, while we all just looked around and stare. Truly, unprofessional, inattentive and 3 hrs we spent wasted. This wasn’t worth the money spent, and my husband and I were extremely hungry.
2 travelers found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do