Recent Searches

Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group

star-33 Reviews
Tulum, Mexico
Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon9 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Nature enthusiasts in Tulum may not realize that this area of the Yucatán Peninsula is actually a hub for whale sharks, making it a go-to destination for viewing these majestic creatures. With this full-day adventure from Tulum, join your guide on a whale shark tour to see these docile animals, and hop in the water to swim with sharks in their natural habitat. After your swim, soak up the sun and refuel with an onboard lunch, included in the tour.
  • Swim alongside whale sharks on a guided nature boat tour, from Tulum
  • Cruise the waters around Isla Mujeres and Contoy, to find the whale sharks
  • Enjoy a personal experience on a small-group adventure, capped at 15 guests
  • Get a great value with a fresh ceviche lunch, and snorkel gear, included
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Bottled water
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Boat of 30 feet
Pick up from meeting point in Tulum
Light lunch (ceviche)
Parking Fees
Pick up from your hotel in Tulum
Whale shark marine and bosphere tax 13 usd per person
Neoprene suit (for rent)

Departure Point

Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico

Departure Time

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
6/1/2021 - 9/15/2021
Wednesday:04:30 AM - 05:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • The size of boat 30 feets
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Not recommended for children aged 9 and under
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Trip To Mexico

All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group?
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group.
What is the policy on sanitization during Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group?
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group.
What is the social distancing policy during Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group?
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group?
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Whale Sharks tour in Tulum: Small-Group.


3 Reviews
4 stars
3 stars
1 star

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews
Whale sharks
, Jul 2021
Our guide Raul was fantastic and made the whole trip even more memorable. Our captain had a fantastic meal ready for us. 100/10 would recommend.
Unnecessary delays!
, Jul 2021
The people on our boat (Pablo & Lester) were wonderful but having a bus to pick up all the passengers extended the tour time by many, MANY hours unnecessarily which made the experience really bad. Also the swells on the ocean were so high- everyone was sea sick! Maybe make a rule that if the swells are going to be over 5 feet, postpone?
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Dear Andrea, thank you very much for sharing your comments. I comment that the stops that we made in other hotels was due we need to picked up them because they reserved same tour reserved by you , and is part of the shared tour that you chosed, for this a detailed logistics is carried out and measuring the right times to arrive on time to the swim service. The swell that occurs in the sea is typical of the Caribbean Sea where we are, however we are very sorry that you have managed to get dizzy. Thank you for visiting our destination and for allowing us to welcome you with great pleasure.
Definitely not worth the price or the time
, Jul 2021
This tour is slightly misleading especially if you are staying in tulum.....they say they will pick you up and take you to the boat which they did but what actually happened was it was a three and a half hour bus ride where we picked up 45 other guests along the way. The man on the bus seemed very confused about the facts, information about the tour, the distance and the time frames. It ended up being a 16 hour day trip. Swimming with the whale sharks was great but basically they would spot the whale shark then let two people get in and swim around for a little and then get out. It would have been much better if we could have just gotten off the boat and snorkeled around for a few hours instead of the 10 minutes we were actually in the water. The boat ride itself was about 3 hours and we were in the water for maybe 30 minutes total. The boat was small and during the 16 hours we were offered civeche and a sandwich. Everyone was STARVING by the end of the day. Also no bathrooms or towels on the boats. Overall not worth the price one bit.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Dear customer, thank you very much for sharing your comments. tour you chosed is a shared tour, this means that more clients will go on same transportation and it is necessary to make stops at other hotels, detailed logistics are carried out and the appropriate schedules are measured to arrive on time at the service of the swim with the whale shark. The staff is trained to give all the necessary information you need yo know before service. Our logistics of swimming with the whale shark is carried out in the way you received it so that everyone can enjoy the experience, apart from the fact that an itinerary must be fulfilled since there are other groups that also do the visit the same day, food provided is what mentioned on our platform. We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed the service to the fullest but we hope that on your next visit You'll give us the opportunity to serve you again, Thank you for visiting our beloved destination. With sincerity and appreciation

Explore Similar Things to Do