Recent Searches

Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride

Venezia, Italy
Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 8 more


Skip the lines at Saint Mark’s Basilica and Doge Palace and opt a shared guided tour instead. Then, enjoy the quintessential Venice experience—a gondola ride through the city’s canals and waterways. Your ticket also includes access to several landmarks surrounding Saint Mark’s Square, as well as access to a mobile app that provides commentary to a walking tour of the city at your own pace.
  • Skip-the-line guided tours of Saint Mark’s Basilica and Doge Palace
  • Shared gondola ride through Venice's waterways
  • Access to several Venice landmarks and attractions on your own
  • Self-paced audio tour of Venice included
Saved to wishlist!
Shared guided tour of Doge Palace and Basilica by a qualified guide. The visit is monolingual.
Skip the Line”: Doge's Palace, the Basilica and Birdge of Sighs
30 minutes shared gondola ride with guide
Live commentary on gondola in English and Italian
Gondola commentary by mobile app in German, French, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, Hindi and Russian
Skip the line ticket to visit by yourself Museo Correr, Biblioteca Marciana & Archeological Museum.
Mobile app to discover Venice by your self: audio guide with more than 200 point of interest.
Hotel pick-up
Food and drinks

Departure Point San Marco, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

Doge's Palace and Basilica Tour: The Clock Tower is located in Saint Mark’s Square. Once by the Bell Tower, go straight on leaving the Basilica on your right and you will find the assistant waiting for you with the signboard TOUR under the Clock Tower. 

Departure Time

10:45 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Calle larga de l'Ascension, 1257, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

With Piazza San Marco and the arches of Museo Correr at your back and the Poste Italiane in front of you, look on the left and you will see a big grey newsstand. The newsstand is between Fendi Boutique and Poste Italiane (Post Office). The staff will wait for you there with a sign “GONDOLA TOUR”.

Departure Time

10:45 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Tour does not operate in case of exceptional high tide or in case of unplanned religious functions (in these cases it can be postponed to the day after otherwise it will be refunded)
  • On Sunday, the guided visit to the Basilica will be done from the second floor due to Mass.
  • Due to the security reason, luggage and bags are not allowed inside the Basilica.
  • Each gondola can host maximum 6 people; the seat aboard cannot be chosen but will be assigned by the gondolier depending of guests weight.
  • The gondola ride does not operate in case of exceptionally bad weather, high/low tide or local gondoliers strike (in these cases it can be postponed the days after otherwise it will be refunded)
  • The itinerary of gondola ride may change in the event of wind or bad weather
  • The mobile app is supported by the followed system: Apple: from IOS 8; IPhone, Ipad and Ipod Touch Android: from the 4.1 version system
  • You'll receive the mobile app for panoramic tour by e-mail.
  • For the visit of the Basilica suitable clothing is required (no shorts)
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • From Aug. 6th to enter the Basilica and the Doge's Palace you need to have the Green Pass + ID card, you cannot enter the venue without it (if you don’t have it or forgot it and are not allowed to enter the venue, the tour will not be refundable)
  • The customers health is the most important matter for us, the tour operates in according to the Covid-19 National directives in order to guarantee the experiences in a safe environment.
  • All customer touchpoints are frequently cleaned, and the tour will leave with small groups.
  • We only ask the kindness to bring the own mask in case you need to wear it.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride.
What is the policy on sanitization during Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride.
What is the social distancing policy during Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


19 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews
A great 3 part tour that was just the 3 things I wanted to see and do
, Nov 2021
All 3 parts of this tour were unique and a wonderful experience. Our guide for St.Marks and the Doges Palace was thorough and informative and for me, most considerate that I couldn't claim a great deal of stairs, so made arrangements for me to use a lift to the top of the Palace so I wouldn't miss anything. Otherwise I would have missed the prisons and the view of the Bridge of Sighs from a unique perspective. The only thing was waiting for 3 hrs for the gondola ride after the 2 parts of the tour ended. Had it not been close to my hotel room, I probably wouldn't have walked back 3 hrs later. BUT, the meeting point was close, thank goodness, plus the young gal, I want to say her name was Alexia or Alexis was so sweet. Since I was the only solo guest, she took me under her wing and made sure my experience was fulfilled.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thanks for your kind review
Paid $238.50 and received nothing
, Oct 2021
We got to the meeting point early and waited until a few minutes before the departure time, and saw nobody with a sign. We did see a sign on a wall that said the meeting point was in another location, so we went there and nobody was there either. Unlike other tours where we have been provided contact information for the tour guide (like the one we took the next day with "with locals" who gave us the tour guide's name and cell phone number in case there was a problem... that was an excellent tour!), we received no means of contacting them. We called Viator customer service for help and they did not offer to put us in contact with the guide or try to reach them, they just directed us to where we started and there was still nobody there with a sign. We requested a refund but Viator said the tour operator reported that we were late/no show and they would give the matter no further consideration. I have a cell phone picture taken next to the meeting point with a time stamp that proves we were at the meeting point early... not that Viator or the tour company cares. We paid $238.50 and got nothing for our money. At least we were able to stand in line and pay for the tickets again and see the sites on our own.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Customers I'm sorry for the inconvenience you have had, please note that last october 5th (the day of your booking) we met around 30 people for the first part of the combo tour and other 20 people in the afternoon for the gondola ride (the second part).In the voucher is clearly written the meeting point with directions "how to get There". Our staff was at the meeting point as usual, starting from 15 minutes before the beginning of the tour. Tickets for doge's palace entrances and places on a gondola in fact were regularly booked for both of you, as you can understand once the tour started we can’t contact the guide during the tour explanation.
Using the tour guide is well worth the money!
, Oct 2021
Due to flooding, we could not visit the Basilica; however, we did tour the Doge Gallery. Our guide was very informative and humorous. He provided a lot of background information about the palace itself as well as Venice as a whole - information that we would not gained had we not used the tour.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thanks for your kind review
Poco cooperativos y nada flexibles con los clientes
, Sep 2021
No alcanzamos a llegar a tiempo, a veces como turistas es complicado y mas en ciudades como Venecia que hay que viajar el lancha y más para llegar a un destino, le escribí al operador de la agencia de Tours antes de la hora de encuentro que no iba a poder llegar y como el tour era a pie les dije que para no atrasarlos llegábamos a dónde estuvieran para poder unirnos sin afectar la visita guiada , me respondieron que lo sentían mucho pero no se podía, les pedí ir a su oficina entonces para obtener los tickets de la góndola y entradas a museos que están incluidos en la actividad ya que no iban a utilizar los nuestros y me volvieron a decir que lo sentían mucho que no se podía. Si cometí un error en no llegar a tiempo y lo entiendo pero creo que son MUY POcO FLEXIBLES para los clientes, gracias We didn’t to arrive on time, sometimes as tourists it is complicated and more in cities like Venice that you have to travel by boat to get to any destination, I wrote to the operator of the Tours agency before the meeting time that no I was going to be able to arrive and but tour was on foot I told them that in order to not delay them we would get to where they were to be able to join without affecting the guided tour, they replied that they were sorry but it was not possible, I asked them to go to their office to get our gondola tickets and museum tickets that are included in the activity they told me again that they were very sorry but its impossible to give our tickets to us. I made a mistake in not being on time and I understand it but I think they are INFLEXIBLE for customers, thank you
Heart of Venice
, Oct 2019
Overall, this was a good tour. But what I didn't realize is it is 3 separate tours. First you meet for the Basilica do an hour tour, get head sets and go through with your guide. Then you have an hour break and meet again for the Doge's Palace, get head sets and go through with a different tour guide. Then you have 15 mins to rush across the Plaza re-line up for the gondola ride, this is also shared with a total of 6 people (it if defiantly worth the experience of going on a gondola but I would recommend paying a little extra and doing it yourself privately. It was kinda weird sharing a boat with strangers and I didn't get to sit with my friend so it was kinda awkward. There was only one seat where you could sit together, first on first serve). I probably wouldn't have booked this tour if I had known that it wasn't continuous... re-checking in each time and getting head sets was annoying. I would have rather stayed with the same guide and group all day. Although, the two guides we had were amazing and had lots of information. Make sure you are wearing the correct clothing for the Basilica. Still a good day, also "skip the line tickets" are very handy as the public line is super long.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear, thank you ofr yout kind review. We take not of your suggestion for the future,. Best regards
Great tour!
, Mar 2019
This was a very good tour. We arrived about 10 minutes late so we missed the guided tour of Doge's Palace and met up with the group for the 2nd part of tour - St. Mark's Basilica. Our guide was very nice and super informative. We really learned a lot from her tour. The third leg was a short Gondola ride which was good enough to check it off my bucket list without breaking the bank. The tour company gave us the tickets for the tour we missed and we were able to go in ourselves and explore at our leisure. I would definitely recommend!
This tour package was very good and I...
Darlene E
, Aug 2018
This tour package was very good and I would recommend it. The actual tours were excellent and our tour guide Rosanne was very good. She spoke clearly and shared a lot of interesting information and handled the group respectfully and well. It was great that she did both the tours so we just seamlessly moved from one to the other. She looked after one person who needed an elevator for the one set of stairs we encountered. Just a few administrative comments to help Viator in the future as we will definitely book with you again There were a lot of people lined up in the square in two lines. It wasnt clear which line was to check in and which was to get the audio receiver. Perhaps the signs could be made clear. Men can wear shorts but the information said not to wear shorts. Suggest you drop this from your written information as my husband wore long pants on a hot day unnecessarily. The Check in person took the first page of our confirmation material and didnt give it back. That meant we had no way to show the Gondola tour manager proof of purchase later in the day. Fortunately I had a second copy which I could use. Not sure what I would have done without that second copy. Perhaps you should hand out a gondola ticket at the first check in. Also suggest have a cooler with water bottles to buy.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Splendida esperienza
, Jul 2021
Davvero una splendida esperienza: la nostra guida per la basilica ed il palazzo ducale era molto preparata e interessante ed il giro in gondola è stato magico. Unico lato negativo è stato che, anche con il tour, non c'è la possibilità di saltare la coda per entrare nella basilica di San Marco e quindi abbiamo dovuto fare la fila normale della durata di circa 45 minuti.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Gentile, grazie mille.
Venise historique
, Feb 2020
Visite du palais des Doges très intéressante, ainsi que la basilique. La guide est très bien, beaucoup d explications. La possibilité de visiter le musée correr n est pas négligeable. Pour ce qui est de la balade en gondole, c est sûrement le moins intéressant, sûrement que le gondolier y est pour beaucoup, le notre n était pas des plus sympathique....
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear, thank you very much for the kind review Best regards
Gute interessante Führung in Deutsch
, Sep 2019
Palast und Basilika interessante und gute Führung ansehenswert, leider konnten wir die Gondelfahrt nicht machen, da wir unser Kreuzfahrtschiff nicht mehr bekommen hätten es wurde gesagt 3 Stunden Dauer, aber das nach den Besichtigungen 3 Stunden Wartezeit bis zur Gondelfahrt war, wurde vorher nicht gesagt. Also wer das will muss genügend Zeit haben
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you fror your kind review. We will take note of your suggestion to improve our products. Best regards

Compare Similar Experiences

Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride
Likely to Sell Out
Historic Venice: Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Basilica guided tour & Gondola ride


3 hours

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do