Recent Searches
Clear

A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City

star-4.523 Reviews
|
York, United Kingdom
A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City

From $23.73

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket

Overview

Puzzle fans need look no further than this immersive York treasure hunt murder mystery, set in 1491, that’s sent to your phone (over the Telegram app) as a series of riddles. Discover classic sights and quirky delights as you unravel each cryptic clue, unlock the path to the next location—and bring the criminal to justice. You’ll cover around 2.5 miles (4 kilometers), with two optional pub breaks en route.
  • Solve riddles and decode clues for a murder mystery set in York in 1491
  • Explore independently, following the clues on your phone
  • No cumbersome apps to download—works on Telegram (similar to WhatsApp)
  • Leaderboard lets you work as a team or compete against friends and family
Saved to wishlist!
A trail of riddles sent to your phone; solve each clue to unlock the path,...
Sent via Telegram smartphone app. Free to download & install. Available on all App Stores.
Clifford's Tower, York , Tower St, York YO1 9SA, UK

After purchase you will receive a text message with instructions of how to setup the trail. Once you're setup you'll receive a location of where to start the trail. Any questions, just get in touch!

Telegram App (Recommended)
11/13/2019 - 12/12/2022
Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 03:00 PM
Whatsapp (Recommended)
12/23/2019 - 12/12/2022
Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 03:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY TheSecret.city
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
23 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews
star-5
New sights
zoe_k
, Nov 2021
Getting to explore parts of the city we have't seen before and the atmosphere were amazing experiences
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Zoe, Thanks for letting us know you had a great time and enjoyed the atmospheres! Hope to see you on the trails again soon, The Secret City Team
star-5
Great fun for the whole family
Staci_L
, Oct 2021
We had a bit of trouble getting in contact when we couldn’t get the tour started. But once we did. Omg. My teen daughters had an absolute blast! We had to make them slow down and share with mom and dad! Great way to spend time seeing the city. Clues were so fun. We wish they had these in more cities!!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi Staci, thanks for bearing with us whilst we got you setup, usually we are almost instant! I'm so happy to hear your daughters and yourselves (once you got a go) had a great time! Thanks for taking the time to let us know! Kind regards, Tom
star-4
Excellent and Enjoyable 3 hours. Saw places and things i haven't see before.
Yvonne_K
, Oct 2021
Good communication on phone. Good clues. Disappointed that it ended where it did. Please review this maybe start from the end point. Work your way back into the centre
star-4
Good experience
Julie_P
, Sep 2021
Seeing sights of York that we would not have seen if we had just gone there. Good experience… the ending was slightly disappointing as we could not get the final clue due to a private function so felt slightly deflated but overall we both enjoyed it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Too intense
Sharon_G
, Jul 2021
A bit too intense for us. The language used is that of the time it is set in. Plus you get hints but no chance of just skipping and given the answer.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Sharon, Thanks for reaching out, i'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the style the route was written in. We trying and make the trail more immersive and allow teams to get into the period that the route was set in! We have a 100% money back guarantee, please get in touch and we'll be happy to assist you. Kind regards, Tom
star-4
Birthday fun
Patricia_K
, Jul 2021
Enjoyed seeing Al the areas of York you would never normally see,and taking on board some histoy on the way.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
HI Patricia, Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts, we'd love to know what we could do to improve or trail so it would be worth 5 stars, please get in touch and let us know. Kind regards, Tom
star-5
Family fell
James_F
, May 2021
It was a very informative adventure add a really great time doing it and you got to see York in more ways that you could imagine
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi James, We love to hear how our customers get on and we've so happy to hear you had a fantastic time. We hope to see you on the trails again in the future, Kind regards, Tom
star-5
Great customer service
Judith_w
, Oct 2020
Great customer service we weren't 100 percent satisfied with the walk and they have very kindly given us a refund. They really care about your experience
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Hi Judith, We're really happy to hear that we managed to help you out. All our trails are covered with a 100% money back guarantee - if you go on a trail and don't enjoy it, just let us know and you'll get a full refund! We're adding in more historical info to some of our trails, so we'd love to have you back sometime in the future. Thanks again, Tom & TheSecret.city Team
star-2
Hard work without finding any knowledge about York
Judith_w
, Oct 2020
We have done one before and it gave us history knowledge at each point,where this doesn't and the clues are really hard work. I would not recommend.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Hi Judith, I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the trail. This trail is intended as a puzzle game with a historical murder mystery built in. The aim is to provide an entertaining day whilst seeing areas of York you wouldn't usually and learn something at the same time. We try to incorporate historical facts within the where possible. We have a 100% money back guarantee, so if you haven't had a great time doing the trail, we'll refund you in full. Kind regards, Tom
star-4
Fun way to see city
Leon_D
, Sep 2020
I had a blip at start as my phone deleted the link to start the tour, after a bit of effort someone got in touch and sorted. Tour was fun way to see areas we wouldn’t necessarily have gone. This would be great fun for a family to spend an hour or so although a couple of the clues are a bit sketchy for adults let alone kids. Got there in the end but would have Been fun to receive an electronic email certificate or paid extra for a t-shirt etc.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Hi Leon, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how your experience went! I'm truly sorry to hear you had issues getting setup, usually teams have a very smooth setup process without any headaches! In the future you can get help with the directional clues by sending 'lost' or 'hint' to find more information about how to answer the clue. Great idea about the certificate / t-shirt - we'll look into this and see what we can do! Thanks again, Tom & TheSecret.city Team

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City
A Fatal Feud - An Immersive Treasure Hunt Murder Mystery - The Secret City

star-4.523

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$23.73

star-42

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$49.29

star-4.5214

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$21.70

star-51082

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$191.24

Explore Similar Things to Do